We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad, averages out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Euro Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Euro Park Hotel to your Saves list
Euro Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Kapellenberg 2, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad, averages out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel was remarkable for the lengths it went to catering to its Japanese tour groups. The 'table reserved' signs were in Japanese and miso soup was standard breakfast fare to give you an idea...You should expect bus-loads of tourists to arrive, flood the lobby, disperse, trickle back downstairs to use the internet, and crowd the breakfast room and lobby the next morning. Free internet is only available in the lobby, so you can't miss this ritual. Also, the smoking area seems to be immediately outside the wide-open front lobby door, so expect to be gassed while you surf.

The location could be good or bad depending on what you want from your hotel. It was a bit far (and up a large hill) from the train station if you're on foot, but it is charmingly tucked away in the woods next to the river. There are pedestrian paths that extend in either direction along the river which are a pleasant way to kill some time or get to town (15 min walk to Austria or old town Fussen).

This was the largest room of our trip (7 hotels in all). Everything was clean. The bathroom had shelf space for toiletries and the shower was raised with a shallow tub that was great for hand-washing clothes and not flooding the bathroom with every shower. The wardrobe was huge and handy for drying washed clothes. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Every room has a small balcony which helps keep the room cool in the summer.

Breakfast was pretty good for hotels in this price range in Europe. Scrambled eggs, sausage (more of a hot dog really), yogurt, cereal, bread, cheese, lunch meats, juice, coffee, and the aforementioned miso soup. The tour groups don't get moving super early, so it is possible to sneak in before the hordes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    36
    60
    21
    18
See reviews for
36
56
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our room smelled (mold?) so bad that we had to sleep with all of the windows open and it was cold outside. The place was jam packed with hundreds of Japanese tourists who it seemed were all smoking cigarettes constantly. My headache lingered for 2 days afterwards. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that some of the staff were polite. We were happy to leave after only one night. Expensive too!

Room Tip: Do yourself a big favor and don't even think of staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel caters to large groups of foreign guests. Several buses of tourists came and went over the weekend, making breakfast a kind of free-for-all. The staff was more concerned with preparing the tables for the dinner service than keeping clean cups and plates in stock. There was a constant shortage of coffee and clean cups/plates, etc. The breakfast itself was not particularly fresh or varied.

The room was adequate but did not have air conditioning on a very hot weekend. The shower was awkward and small so that the curtain clung to you as you tried to wash. We got in and out as fast as we could! Also, they provide hand/body/shampoo in one bottle, not individual toiletries, FYI. Our room faced the Lech river and had a patio, which was nice, but ours was the only room without patio furniture, for some reason.

The location is pleasant since it is removed from the city center and is more quiet, but does require a bit of a hilly walk between the old town or the train station. We were unprepared for the steep climb with our bags from the train station.

The front desk staff was very helpful, helping us make change, posting letters for us, and also getting bus schedules. There is free wi-fi in the lobby, where evenings were packed with folks on their iPhones or laptops.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We would like to share with you our personal opinion and honest experience staying at the hotel Europark, which was nothing short of a nightmare! I can honestly say that we would NEVER recommend it to ANYONE.


In a very limited amount of hotels during our two world trips, we have put up with hair clogged drains, sludge filled shower basins, broken elevators ,broken taps, stained carpets, undersized beds, unreasonable sized rooms without luggage storage availability, boring breakfasts, bad locations, bed itches, and on one occasion roof rats which kept us awake the entire night. Despite all of this we would rather endure all of the above at the same time rather than to ever stay at the Europark hotel again!

It is our opinion the owner/manager failed in his ‘duty of care’ to protect his non-smoking customers by placing the one and only useable computer in an allowed smoking lobby placing his non-smoking clients in harm’s way.

The hotel reception, kitchen and management staff are unbelievable rude but the first prize of arrogance and disrespect has to be undisputedly awarded to the owner/ manager. While his smoking customers continually blew smoke into our faces and then abused us when we asked them to please move as we suffered with asthma they laughed stating that the manager/owner, who was apparently a friend of theirs, had dedicated this area to allow smoking.

When we tried to explain our side of the situation to the manager, he rudely fobs us off, saying,” Not interested.” When we tried to explain the health issues that the smoking was causing us, he told us to get out of the hotel.- Despite the health problems it was causing area the manager/owner stated that it was his property and he allowed smoking. He then ordered us to leave the premises and threatened to throw our belongings out in the pouring rain without so much as allowing us the courtesy to explain our side of the story. He has refused to refund our prepaid payment for the room and prepaid breakfast. He also refused to service our room and to provide us with clean towel or soap. He also refused any outside telephone calls preventing us from being able to call the Police or any other hotel to make further arrangements.

When we approached the reception staff regarding our list of complaints, they changed from English to German speaking amongst themselves so we could not understand the conversation.


At our one and only breakfast experience, we were sat at a table with soiled tablecloth, bread crumbs and spilled coffee stains. When we dared to ask for a new table showing them the state of filth, they refused ripping off the table cloth and replacing it with a not better than the first one. Without asking if we drink coffee, the waitress slammed a pot of coffee onto the table spilling the contents from the spout. Back to a soiled tablecloth! When I asked her to please take away the coffee as we did not drink it, she hissed and complained all the way to the kitchen. The kitchen manager was argumentative, rude, loud, uncaring, ignorant and arrogant. I wondered if he was related to the owner/manager as the two behaved in the same manner. Two of the cutlery items were incrusted with dried food stains and the remaining food which was all but gone, was not replaced leaving scrappy pieces of meat & cheese swimming in a pool of unappetising leftovers. Bon appetite!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We visited Fussen during our trip to Neuschwanstein castle and stayed at Europark Hotel. The hotel looks good from outside but needs complete makeover inside. The rooms was crampy and the bathroom was not clean. Also, the bath area was so small that you could hardly move once you got inside. The breakfast was not at par even with a 3 star hotel and the staff was rude.

Room Tip: Try to get the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Quiet location, ten minutes walk from the town centre. We visited on a motorcyle and were able to make use of the private garage.
We had a double room, with a small adjoining private seating area and balcony.
Hot and cold buffet style breakfast was offered.
We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night. The first thing we noticed when we entered the room was a horrible smell. Perhaps they were trying to cover up the smell of cigarettes, old furniture and carpet with something worse?
The furniture was dated, carpets dirty, curtains which may have once been red were now brown with holes in it. The shower curtain had yellow stains on it. The bed appeared clean and was the only part of the whole room I dared to touch.
We opened the balcony door to get rid of the smell and saw cigarette butts and other rubbish on the balcony. Because it was Dec in Germany the room soon got cold which was when we discovered that the heating didn't work.
As unpleasant as it was for me, it was even worse for my parents whose double room was obviously a single room with an extra bed put in. They had to climb and carry their suitcases over the bed before they could get in!
Non-smokers beware, the free internet is in the smoking reception area and after a few minutes I had to leave gasping for fresh air. Breakfast was basic and amusingly served a watery miso soup, to cater for the Japanese tourists I suppose.
How this "hotel" got its star rating I don't know but I'm guessing it was because of the facilities which were down dark unlit corridors and unavailable when I stayed there.
If you want a clean bed and nothing else, stay here. If you want a pleasant place to stay, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Euro Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Park Hotel

Address: Am Kapellenberg 2, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Euro Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Euro Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Euro Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euro Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.