We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Hirsch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hirsch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hirsch to your Saves list
Hotel Hirsch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaiser-Maximilian-Platz 7, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel Hirsch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 4 night in Tower 3, the room was nice. Only one person at front desk was friendly, the rest a bit cold. This did not take away from our stay. Be aware they lock exit to roof deck at night, if there ever is a fire,one escape route is locked! Hotel was in good location for exploring area

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    148
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
94
169
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel was a good choice for our quick stop in Fussen to see Prince Ludwig's castles. It is a large older hotel on the edge of town that is closest to the road to the castles, as well as being directly across from the historic town center. The public areas have all of the charm you'd expect to find in the Bavarian foot hills, and the rooms are up-dated, comfortable and spacious, with a large modern bathrooms and plenty of storage space. The parking was free in their parking lot. Breakfast was the usual sturdy German spread.

It was a shame that we were in and out so fast that we could not enjoy this old gem more, including the roof deck or the large lending-library located on the top floor. After an abysmal dining experience across town, we wished we had just stayed in the hotel and tried their charming dining room.

The Hotel Hirsch seems set up to deal with any type of traveler and the staff speak good English. It felt like a bargain to us and we enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid street noises. There is no great view from the front anyway. Exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was busy in Fussen and we took the last room available at The Hirsch.
My Garden shed is bigger than the room we had, it was small, very small and the beds uncomfortable. We found it dark and miserable although the Staff were very nice.
115 euros for this room!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a normal size double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only stayed one night here but would've loved to stay longer. Fussen is a charming little city and this hotel is an easy walk into town. We thought it would be noisy since our room overlooked the main road, but when we shut the windows it closed out most noise too. Everything was clean and we had a great breakfast the next morning. We'd definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want fresh air at night, ask for a room that does not overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Friendly, helpful service and large, clean, attractive rooms. Nice location in the lovely town on Fussen and very convenient to the two castles, Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. We would definitely stay here again and very much recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was one of the biggest hotel (50 rooms) we stayed at on this Europe trip. The room was clean, large and we liked the location with free parking.  We slept with the windows open on the third floor and the street noise was at times distracting, but perhaps it would have been better on the other side of the building.  We appreciated the free wifi, hair dryer and the gummi bears upon arrival! 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

LOCATION - the hotel is perfect - next to tourist information and across the road from the pedestriam mall.
PARKING - free in front of hotel.
ROOM - good size room and bathroom, spotlessly clean, lots of electric points to charge devices. As is the case in most hotels in Germany, a "double bed" means 2 single beds pushed together and with separate blankets.
TV - flat screen, clear picture, reasonable channels in all languages.
INTERNET - Free and good
RESTAURANT - great breakfast and we also had an excellent dinner.
STAFF - depending on who is on duty - some very good and some less friendly. Also - a number of times there was no one at the reception desk and we had to go and look for a person to help.
SUMMARY - beautifully decorated and furnished. Would highly recommend this hotel and their restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirsch

Address: Kaiser-Maximilian-Platz 7, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#4 Family Hotel in Fussen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hirsch 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirsch Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hirsch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.