We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Hopfensee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Hopfensee to your Saves list
Hotel Am Hopfensee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uferstrasse 10, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location, poor hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The only good thing about this hotel is location - right infront of the lake, good view on Alps, 5 min from Füssen and Neuschwanstein castle. But that was just it. Hotel is very old. Our triple room 105 was smelly, especially bathroom, even towels didn't feel being clean. It had nothing to do with the pictures that were placed in booking.com - we felt really cheated with so many nice guesthouses around. Breakfast was also basic, and you need to get up as early as 7 to get your croissant, otherwise you'll eat yesterday's bread. I would love to come back during the winter time but never to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
15
65
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed for 6 nights in June,2010 The Hotel is under renovation at present but our room which was facing the beautiful lake was large, clean although dated.
It is excellent value for money and we would return as the area is so stunning, the friendly hotel staff make the stay very enjoyable. We opted for 1/2 pension which is a great deal as the meals were wholesome and large by Australian standards.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Hotel is situated right next to a lake. So out of the window we had a beautiful view on the lake and mountains. If you like jogging or just walking it is a good place for it. Furniture in the room was older, but on the other hand it was clean. Bathroom was nice, clean as well. Staff at the reception was very helpful. We stayed only over night, so didnt have to pay for parking. Breakfast was very good, wide range.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

The lady in charge (maybe owner) was very rude and unprofessional, and the staff/waiter were also not friendly. The room was not clean with heavy smoking smell and the bedding felt not changed, and many stains on the ground and walls. The smelly bathroom had no supplies except a towel. The included breakfast had very few items such as cold eggs (don't be fooled by the restaurant setting facing the lake). It had no internet connection nor wireless even though it advertised to have.

They would try to charge additional at any chance, like 10 euro for parking in front as in fact parking in the city owned lot in front (between the hotel and the lake) is free between 7pm and 9am and free 2 hour parking during daytime. The hotel is located near the beautiful lake on a road with other B&B hotels, and might be the cheapest (as it indeed feels cheap). It is about 2 miles from Fussen. I would avoid this horrible hotel and its restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

We have stayed here twice now and enjoyed both visits. The hotel is possibly a little tired although bathrooms have been updated and everything works and beds are comfortable.

Found staff friendly and helpful and dinner in the restaurant was very satisfying, good regional food, good service etc. Breakfast was also fine with plenty of choice and a lovely view over the Hopfen See from the breakfast room.

There is also a good restaurant/bar across the road on the lake front.

I'd recommend this as an alternative to Fussen and the tourist hordes, particularly if you want a more Euro experience. You'll feel like you are holidaying with the locals here.

The area itself is very quaint with great views over the lake to the alps and back to Neuschwanstein if you walk a little way around the lake. If you are lucky you will still see cows grazing along side the road although the area has developed alot since we first visited in 2001. Looks like it got discovered!

  • Liked — Location and ambience
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
512 helpful votes 512 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Fussen had no vacancies so we traveled North a short distance and stumbled upon the Hotel Alpenblick while looking for a place to eat. The rate was 99.00 Euro for a room with two beds, and my buddy and I decided to stay. The main reason we decided to stay was they said it included free Internet in the room. There actually was no Intrenet in the room, but I will give details on that after I tell you about the room.

The room is dark much like the hotel, but clean. The two beds were good, and had down bedding. The bathroom was good until I decided to take a shower and realized they hung the shower curtain too close. You have about 1/2 meter to manuever or the curtain quickly wraps around you...disgusting feeling.

The front desk is friendly, but I found them to be unhelpful and full of nonsense and weird smiles that were fake. When we asked about the free Internet in the room they said we had to take a cable and plug it in the outlet in the main restaurant....which was full of people eating pricey dinners. That is not what I was told at check-in. I guess what they say at check-in is just to get you to check in, so do yourself a favor and shop around and read the reviews before walking in this place. My buddy and I walked around a bit looking for a pub, and everything in the immediate area is closed at night.

We ate dinner in the Riviera Restuarant, their restaurant next door that serves kind of an Italian menu with pizzas and stuff. The service is really bad there. They forget about you, let your glass of beer sit empty, and even switch waiters on you a couple times. Strange considering they do this for a living. They even tried to tell me the credit card machine wasn't working and attempted to get me to pay in cash. I was kind of tired of their nonsense and made them try it in front of me...it worked fine but not without the head waiter coming around and making a bit of a scene.

The view of the lake is nice, and there is also a walking trail and park along the shoreline. The Alpenblik is not the inventor of this, so I recommend shopping and asking around for a hotel that provides better service.

I hope my review helped. Happy travels!

  • Liked — The bed.
  • Disliked — Service.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

we was in the thats lovely hotel for 2 nights, our agent booked it. we; are suprised at the check in, a great location, rooms with balcony and a fantantic view over the lake and the the alps, we do not use the sauna and massagecenter. At the dinner a very friendly engl. speaking staff served a perfect meal, breakfasttime with buffetstyle in the restaurant Wintergarden is so nice, we do not understand the other typer- befor us, this is a old but very nice hotel.

  • Liked — check in, dinner, rooms, location, services,
  • Disliked — the weather* lol*
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Am Hopfensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Hopfensee

Address: Uferstrasse 10, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Hopfensee 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Am Hopfensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenblick Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Hopfensee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.