We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilika St. Mang

Basilika St. Mang
Lechhalde 3, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Fussen
Attraction details
Troy
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A lovely old church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I visited while in Fussen. It's a lovely church and kept very well. Easy walk from our hotel in Fussen. Recommend a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fussen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“St Mang Basilica & Shrine of Blessed Francis X Seelos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A beautiful barock church dedicated to the Apostle of the Algäu,St Magnus,referred to locally as St Mang.The origional chapel built by him in the 7th century lies below the main altar and can be seen by attending one of the church tours in German.Inside the Basilica on the right hand side as you come in the door can be found the German Shrine to Blessed Francis Xavier Seelos.He was born in Füssen in 1819 and died a redemptorist priest in New Orleans aged 48 from yellow fever.There is a wonderful pulpit and the organ has just cost over €250,000 to renovate.Well known organists come from all over Europe to play this organ.Below the organ is another crypt where the baptismal font can be found.This is the font used to baptize Blessed Seelos on the day he was born.The basilica is open from early morning until about 6pm almost every day.Well worth a visit and take time out for a quiet moment of prayer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Interesting old church at the heart of the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

interesting place to while away half an hour on the way to the Fussen old castle, which in contrast we found quite disappointing. Lots of nooks and crannies and a small crypt. Basilica is clearly still at the heart of civic life in Fussen

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Polska
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
269 attraction reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Fussen main old town Attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The basilika is nicely set in the architecture of the old town. It is actually part of the whole old town complex of the old town. Popular place for local weddings ;)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Bright and Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were lucky when we went in to visit the church, there was a concert going on. We stayed there almost 30 minutes to listen to the music. The church itself is a little different from all other churches we visited in France, Italy, and Spain. It is very bright! Its decoration and paintings are of bright color tones, very harmonious.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilika St. Mang also viewed

 

Been to Basilika St. Mang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilika St. Mang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.