We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Christine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Christine to your Saves list
Hotel Christine
Weidachstrasse 31, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed at this hotel last year for 2 nights and we were very happy with our experience. The rooms were nicely sized and very clean. Breakfast was incredible! The owner, Kurt was very friendly, helpful and and nice (I think some critiques from other reviewers might come from misinterpreting the rougher german mannerisms). I tend to like hotels in the city or town center, but the breakfast here makes the drive or walk you would have to make to get to the town of fussen well worth it.
Something to note, there is another hotel with the same name in Landstuhl. I had actually accidently booked here, so be careful.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    29
    9
    4
    13
See reviews for
41
111
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

For many years we have stayed in Bed & Breakfast establishments while on holiday, many excellent, but Hotel Christine has been the jewel in the crown. We stayed as the guests of Herr Ruppert for nine days and, although looking forward to some days in Munich and Stuttgart with German friends, we were really sad to leave. Our room with a balcony overlooking the mountains and Schloss Neuschwanstein was very comfortable, clean and well appointed with a mini bar and an english language channel on the TV. Even for a more mature couple it's situation was perfect with an easy 10/15 minute stroll to the pretty and charming Altstadt of Fussen and, in the other direction, 5 minutes to the bootshafen and the Festspielhaus on the Forggensee. We can only endorse all the comments made by other reviewers with regard to Herr Ruppert's now legendary breakfasts - bliss! The staff were all very pleasant and attentive, especially Herr Rupert himself who was so helpful and kind during our visit that we now regard him as another of our German friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Arrived in Fussen without a reservation. There is a drive marking hotels throughout the area where we spotted Hotel Christine. It faces the mountains with a magnificent view of a castle. The owner Curt was very gracious and helpful, checking us in he offered mimosas and a tray of sweet treats. He treated us like family. The room off the lobby was very clean with a patio leading to a private yard. Modern facilities and breakfast to die for!!! Curt is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of Stuttgart and his work shows a pride in his profession. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

The rooms were spotless, the service was wonderful and the breakfast served each morning was AMAZING! This is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett RI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I don't usually write reviews, but after seeing the negative comments about Kurt (the owner) I feel compelled to respond. The reason why so many people find this place amazing is because you are truly treated like family. Kurt is like the grandpa of the house. He is rough on the outside, but so kind on the inside. If you're looking for a true, authentic, German experience, if you love hole-in-the-wall adventures, if you're going to Germany to get a local flavor, than go to Hotel Christine!! If you're a spoiled brat and are used to getting waited on hand and foot at 5 star hotels, then go elsewhere.

This hotel is amazing!! The breakfast is out of this world and the hospitality is unparalleled!!!

You will not regret your stay at hotel Christine, unless you have a serious superiority complex.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

We were initially looking for something less expensive, but decided to give Hotel Christine a chance and are glad we did. The hotel was clean, the room spacious, and the hotel in a great location with wonderful views. The hotel owner was very attentive. A welcomed snack was waiting for us when we got to our room. Breakfast was much more than expected and the best we've had since starting our traveling 2 months ago. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

DO NOT GIVE THIS PROPRIETOR YOUR BUSINESS! I booked this hotel based on the #1 rating of tripadvisor. My two young children and I arrived around 4 pm and we were obviously the ONLY guests for the night. The owner was terribly unfriendly and unwelcoming, and he took us to our room that only had two beds, but he said he would put sheets on the loveseat for one of my kids. I asked him if it was a pull-out sleeper, but it wasn't. He then proceeded to yell at us, "What, this isn't good enough for a young girl to sleep on?!?" He was so rude and intimidating that I picked up our bags, and my kids, and we left. He then started screaming at us in German; I don't speak German, but I can tell you that it wasn't nice. He literally slammed the door behind us. I then proceeded to the Tourist Office and told him my story. He smiled, knowingly, and said he was sorry that we had had the experience of many others! We checked into the Hotel Kurcafe and had a lovely room, with wonderful, friendly service, at less than what we would have paid at Hotel Christine.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christine

Address: Weidachstrasse 31, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
#10 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Christine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christine Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Christine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.