We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant to your Saves list
Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alatseestrasse 38, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

It is a 15 min walk to the town center. Quiet, clean, excellent value. Beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Hotel was quaint,beautiful,charming. Bed was comfortable and the sheets were soft.
Perfect hotel for a honeymoon. Quiet, room was comfy and the restaurant served great food. Will go back definitely.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie B, Inhaber at Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank und hoffentlich bis bald!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

After the hustle and bustle of Munich, it was sooo nice to venture to the Fussen area and the Ruchti Hotel. Rooms were a nice size, and the view from the balcony was AMAZING. We ate at the restaurant both nights and it was a real treat. We traveled with a group ([--]) that were friends with the owners, and we were very happy with our guides' choice of hotels. Also, a quick walk to town.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Stayed 2 nights at Ruchti Hotel , best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel even though the hotel was full ,the rooms were so quiet no noise from showers ,toilets and people coming home. We had a room overlooking the park and the mountains and the sky jump with a balcony .The rooms are a little dated but immaculate, the breakfast was excellent lots of choice scrambled eggs, bacon, choice of cereals, fresh fruit salad, cheese, cold meats and different breads. The staff filled our flask with hot water when we left at no charge. We ate in the restaurant the first night we had the famous schnizels, they were so big that they hung off the large plate. The next night not so good we had a vegetarian omellette which came with a meat gravy!!, have the schnizel but otherwise eat out in the town. Fussen is a very pretty old town and about 10 mins walk from the hotel along side the river Leche a pleasant stroll lots of shops etc. The park has walks around 2 small lakes and a pleasant restaurant in the woods.We would return ,the owner Stephanie was very pleasant and helpful, we were late arriving but nothing was too much trouble.

  • Liked — the peaceful environment
  • Disliked — the 2nd dinner in the hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

We enjoyed our break in Füssen and plan on going back. We'd be happy to stay at Ruchti's again. Breakfast was varied and delicious, the personnel very friendly and the location ideal. A pleasant walk into town to the left, gorgeous walks through woods and past lakes to the right and a small park directly opposite. It was quiet and peaceful.
The rooms could do with a small facelift, we think it's already in progress. Our walls were peach and we had a picture. And a hairdrier, new shelf and cosmetic tissue box fixed in the bathroom, which was small but clean.
The carpet was newish, the curtains and chair cushions looked new. The matresses were very good though the old clumsy bedframe had springs that creaked at every turn. The wardrobe was unique. A battered chipboard box with hessian badly stuck on the doors. It wasn't appropriate for the price category. The advertised `room safe´ was a lockable chipboard cupboard.

We didn't try the hotel restaurant as we were out and about. We found an excellent restaurant in Füssen - Zum Schwanen. The food is wonderful, so is the service. We ate there 2 nights out of 3.
We went to the Phönix Chinese restaurant the other night - a mistake. The food wasn't too bad, (though monotonous, eg. `mixed fried vegetables´ was just bamboo shoots and beansprouts) but the service was the worst we've ever experienced. We've never not left a tip before. We were also overcharged.

It's 1.7 km (just over a mile) from Ruchti's to the railway station, we checked. You can walk it but I wouldn't want to do it with a heavy case.

  • Liked — location, breakfast, friendly personnel
  • Disliked — old furniture, difficult door locks
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruchti, Inhaber at Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Dear Crsch, thank you for your comment. The room you stayed in and another 8 of this type were completely renovated in 2007 and 2008. So the furniture on your pictures don't exist anymore. Sorry for your inconvenience with the wardrobe and we hope to see you again to try our famous Schnitzels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2007

This 100 year old hotel was down the street from the main town, but it is a really nice walk. It would be considered "country" and is near the Lech River. The view from our window (which we requested) was stunning. The Alps were green and beautiful. The room, however, didn't have a picture in it. Very plain, white walls that needed new paint. The bed was comfortable enough, and the view/balcony made up for it. They had hair dryers at the front if you ask. We did not have time to visit the spa or fitness room. Breakfast was a nice spread, and even had scrambled eggs, which is uncommon for German breakfasts. They had the typical German feast of breads, meats, cheeses, yogurts, cereal, and my favorite Nutella spread. We LOVED the town of Fussen for its food and atmosphere. I booked through [--] and got a good rate.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The room was very plain
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

We just stayed one night in this hotel located 500 meters away from Fussen railstation. We got there walking at night, so there's no need to take a taxi.
The hotel has a nice restaurant, though we didn't eat there. We took the breakfast, which was buffet and very good (see photo).
The room was very spacious, spotless clean and warm. The bed was very comfy, which is important after a whole day of walking to the castles. The place is very quiet, considering we've been in low season with little rooms occupied.
The bathroom was quite small, with shower. Very clean, also.
The view from the room was nice, with the Alps and trees...
The staff spoke perfect English, and were very polite with us. They let us leave the baggage for the day before our departure to our next destination.

We paid 74.40 euros for the night, breakfast and all taxes included.

  • Liked — The views and the quietness of the place
  • Disliked — The most expensive hotel in our trip
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't take a taxi to the hotel from the train station, is perfectly reachable by walking
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie B, Inhaber at Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant

Address: Alatseestrasse 38, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruchtis Hotel Und

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.