We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and would certainly go back if we're there again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alatseestrasse 38, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 hotels in Fussen
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and would certainly go back if we're there again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our room was good with more counter space than one often gets in a hotel. There was a skylight, which was a novelty in a hotel. Shower room fine, and our room standard was perfectly good, not shabby etc., unlike some other reviews stated. Excellent and varied breakfasts. The hotel is beautifully situated and very near Fussen, although we missed the turn-off road that it's on to start with, thinking it was some sort of private road..
The receptionist was helpful, even printing out directions for me to our next destination.

Room Tip: If you like skylights, ask for a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

First of all, this hotel is a pain in the bum to photograph. Its position is ideal, at the head of a cul de sac (not shown as a no through road on Google) with a wood behind and an avenue of trees in front (hence being impossible to photograph). Its quiet and yet just a short stroll from bustling Fussen, fourth generation and very friendly.

If you are driving, head for Bad Faulenbach (just off the old part of Fussen) and then head due south up the short steep rise, through a cutting (go very slowly) and turn right.

If you are going up the Tegelberg on the cable car, go early. We saw just two couples in the first two hours, but by the time we got down to the castle it was heaving.

BTW, I had Spaghetti Carbonara one evening. It wasn't on the menu but the lady chef made it for me and it was one of the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. First impressions were good and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our room did not reach expectations. Desperately in need of refurbishment.Stained carpet, broken tv and general grubbiness. Our bedroom and bathroom ( no blind) windows were overlooked by the neighbour's patio. Breakfast was good and presented by friendly staff. The price did not reflect value for money however.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a motorcycle tour of Germany with a friend. On arrival the owner Hermann Ruchti insisted we leave our bikes under his car port in case of rain. whilst we only spent 3 nights here we were made to feel so welcome. On one afternoon i went to the restaurant out of hours to request tea, On entering the restaurant i interupted a staff members birthday celebrations but was invited by Hermann's daughter, Stefanie to share the celebration with them and not only got my tea but also a piece of cake. I can only say that by the time we left I felt like a member of the family.

Room Tip: Ring first and ask....All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We booked this hotel for our last (what we hoped would be a quiet) night in Germany before returning to the US. It was a huge disappointment. The breakfast was fine. The receptionist at check-in was very nice and accomodating. But it is certainly not a 3-star hotel by US standards - kind of run-down older furniture, clean but old linens (with holes). That would not be a problem though for one night. The disappointment was the fact that apparently a group of Russian men (hockey players) was staying at this hotel and they were rowdy and loud and used inappropriate language (yes, I do understand Russian) and the hotel staff didn't lift a finder to put a stop to it. We were awaken at about midnight by loud Russian speech and singing and swears - and that's in a small town in Germany where it is so quiet and peaceful that one feels like tiptoeing in order not to wake people. I called the front desk but the night person didn't speak English. OK, he didn't understand what I was saying but it's impossible that he did not hear the noise. Didn't do a thing. (By the way I had no problem telling them to shut up, but there were too many to yell at). When I complained the next morning the reception person just shrugged her shoulders. That is unacceptable, and when we pay for the room at the hotel we expect it to provide us with good service including ensuring peace and quiet. I don't recommend this place. It's not a good value. You'll do much better staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Nice place but hotels old key was broken and they wanted 50 euros, very expensive price for old key!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clapham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I had a single room. The bed wasnt the best but it was ok for the one night i was there. The furniture looked like it had been there since the 1970s. However it was clean and fine really - it just needs a bit of updating. The bathroom was a bit gloomy too and the towels a bit worn but as i say it was ok. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay. Its a ten minute or so walk into town. We went on a Sunday and everywhere shut early and basically you had no choice but to go back to your hotel and be in bed by around 10.30!Neuschwanstein is fantastic - lots of tourists - probably worth booking ticket online in advance as there is no choice but to go round on the guided tour and if you just turn up there may not be places.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant

Address: Alatseestrasse 38, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruchtis Hotel Und

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruchti's Hotel und Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.