We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonne to your Saves list
Hotel Sonne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
kildare ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We are a mature couple and would highly recommed this hotel for value and friendly staff. We stayed 5 days and were sorry to be leaving. The breakfast wa sumptous and you are even encouraged to take a doggie bag for lunch. We were a little disappointed with the dinner menu. The staff and owner are very friendly and helpful. It is an excellent location from train and buses being a very short walk. Lovely rooms with excellent beds and soft comfortable bed linen.

Enjoy.....

M&A

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    234
    43
    7
    2
See reviews for
272
445
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

I have to admit that when booking hotels/rooms in Europe, no matter how much research I do, I'm never sure of exactly what to expect. With that said, we struggled deciding on a hotel in Fussen. For one, it was over New Year's for 3 nights and some hotels required you participate in their New Years dining which we did not want. I would rather make my own decisions as to where I wish to dine. We chose Hotel Sonne.

We arrived at Hotel Sonne on December 30th to find the underground parking fully booked, and the outside lot full. No need to pay for parking to check in as you can pull up on the sidewalk outside reception (this is a small town afterall and no one cares). Or, do as we did and buzz reception on the intercom at the outside parking lot (they will let you in) and double park while one of you runs inside to check in and ask about parking. The fellow at reception was kind enough to say he could find us parking and he came out into the lot and moved a post for us to park along the entrance. Throughout our 3 days we always seemed to find parking in the lot, it was not a problem. The hotel is perfectly located in the town of Fussen and is easy to come and go from to visit Neuschwanstein or for drives in the area.

This was not why we were pleasantly surprised however. We checked in and reception was most professional. Delicious cookies were placed at reception throughout our stay for the holidays. When booking Hotel Sonne you will see several different categories of rooms. We mulled over and fretted the room size but ultimately booked the 'small' Via Claudia room. Having stayed in all types of accommodation in Europe, we realize that when a hotel says small it will probably be extremely small. Our room was not small for European standards and we were pleasantly surprised. The bathroom was spotless and even though it was a bit small, we have had much smaller. The space seemed to work well. The hotel website should really show better images of these rooms however, to assist future guests, I will include images of the Via Claudia room so you can see for yourself what you are getting.

The room was clean, functional and we liked the contemporary decor of not only the hotel but also the room. The room was also very quiet. We could not here hall noise or room noise. Ironically unlike the previous post who had no heat, our room was a little on the warm side even after turning off the heater. In the middle of the night we would open our window to cool the room. The hotel is situated on the main street and also the pedestrian street. Our room overlooked the delightful pedestrian street with its Christmas lights and festive atmosphere (it was afterall New Years). 'Free' wifi is always a bonus and very much appreciated.

Breakfast was truly delightful and we looked forward to the morning for this reason. This was a very generous and quality breakfast buffet that included the most exquisite buttery croissants. There were also other pastries, quality breads, sliced meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, yogurt and wonderfully sliced 'fresh' fruit. The orange juice was actual actual orange juice and not a packaged variety. Servers would bring wonderful cups of cappuccino. On New Years Day apple strudel was even served. I know I'm missing items but the quality was excellent at Hotel Sonne. There are two rooms to sit in and we chose the wonderful smaller room with white slip covered chairs and crisply dressed tables in white. The room is very inviting and difficult to leave as we could have easily stayed and enjoyed a second cappuccino if only there were time.

The only thing that I could see management adding to the room would be a mirror or two in the room. With only a mirror in the bathroom, it is difficult to get ready when there are two of you showering, drying hair, etc.

We had a wonderful time in Fussen over the New Year's holiday. This is a town that knows how to celebrate and bring a New Year. I highly recommend Hotel Sonne and wouldn't hesitate to stay at it again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here on 13 January 2010. The pinnacle of our journey was supposed to be reaching Fussen for a much anticipated trip to Neuschwanstein Castle. This hotel managed to detract greatly from an otherwise outstanding experience. The hotel has parking for 5-7 euro depending on whether you want indoor or outdoor. However, we had to park in a parking garage first so that we could go get a room key to be charged for the hotel parking. This was a minor inconvenience of course. The hotel is modern and quite nice. There is an elevator so we didn't have to worry about carrying luggage up stairs. I booked a Hohes Schloss room since it had a balcony. The view was great...if you like looking at a hair salon next door. When I went to log into the internet I couldn't find the wifi. When I called the front desk I was informed that "you usually can't get it on the 2nd floor." I would have liked to know that before I booked a room that was on the 2nd floor of course. We went and visited the castle and had a nice time. Needless to say we were quite cold when we returned (January). Unfortunately, the heat in the room failed to work. We made multiple phone calls to the front desk and we were assured it would heat up soon. Eventually, someone came up and said it was because the handle on the door wasn't straight up and down. Of course that didn't fix it. We finally went to bed though we woke up freezing multiple times throughout the night (no answer when I called the front desk again). The next morning on checkout the girl asked us how the room was. I let her know all of the problems we encountered. She said "oh...sorry about that...it'll be 165 euro." The other two hotels on our trip were wonderful. This one should be avoided like the plague.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed at the Sonne Hotel 2 nights over Christmas 2009 period and loved the hotel. Staff were excellent, rooms were great. Breakfast was included and was a fantastic buffet of hot and cold foods. Plenty of free parking at the hotel.
Fussen itself is very nice with old town shops and streets. Lots of places to eat. We had a hire car and drove out to the Castles about 5 kms away. From here we also drove to Ehrwald to go up Zugspitze on the cable car. Ride was expensive but the view from the top was sensational as we had a clear day.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

The location is only 1 block from train and bus stations and within walking distance of many excellent restaurants. Most of the staff speak English and were the most friendly and pleasant we encountered on our recent 2 week stay in Europe. Arriving prior to check in time, we were graciously allowed to lock our bags in a locker so that we could tour this picturesque city unencombered. Our room was large clean and beautiful, with a full queen sized bed. The staff were well informed about dinner options and the small lobby bar was the perfect place for a quality pre or post dinner cocktail. Just be aware that one of the desk clerks has to pull double duty as bartender, but they were more attentive than many full time bar keeps we encoutered in London

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Beautiful and cozy hotel in the city center.
Home atmosphere, all this is exclusively for guests' convenience. The emotional atmosphere. At the reception there is always a kettle of hot drinks in the lobby of a few places with free internet. On the top floor of a large Finnish and infrared sauna. (It should be borne in mind that the sauna in a German hotel together for women and men, and in Germany decided to steam naked!) After a winter walk around, where you can perfectly relax! Excellent breakfast, even champagne. This hotel has remained in our memory as a fantastic place!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

My wife and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary at this wonderful hotel. We planned the trip to Füssen at the last minute and just walked into Hotel Sonne at 9PM, looking for a place to stay. Sabrina, the woman at the reception, was very helpful and gave us a free upgrade to one of their suites.
The room was big, by German standards, and very clean. The bathroom was reminiscent of one of those spa hotels. Very clean and well stocked.
The breakfast was good, although I've had better at the standard business hotels in Germany.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to travellers planning an overnight stay in Füssen.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.