We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away with husband” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonne to your Saves list
Hotel Sonne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Weekend away with husband”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel is in the adorable, scenic town of Fussen, only a short drive from the kings castles. The location is ideal and convenient. The decor is very chic and the rooms very comfortable. We ate at the breakfast buffet every morning and it was always clean, stocked, and fresh. It is included with the room and probably the best one we have eaten at ( that was included). The whole hotel is very clean and the beds were comfortable. Both me and my husband slept well when we were there. Parking is not ideal and a little tight but we always managed to get a spot. The staff was very helpful and extremely pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Fussen.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    261
    48
    7
    2
See reviews for
304
476
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile


We stayed here for 2 nights in April because it was supposed to be close to the castles. We were not disappointed. Everything from check in to check out was a breeze. Underground parking for no additional charge. Franz at the front desk greeted us and took care of everything happily and efficiently. My wife ran out of hairspray and I went down and asked the concierge if anything was open to get her more spray. A girl who worked there said she might have some at home and ran out to get it before I could stop her. She delivered it to our door and I tried to give her some money and she just said no and quickly left. Wow! Great place. quiet. close to everything. I highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed two nights in a quad. The room was nice - not too big but still big enough for a family of 4. My only complaint would be the strong smell of perfume - I think it must have been an air freshener used by housekeeping. When we arrived at Fussen, we walked from the train station and it took about 5 minutes. The following day, we took a bus to the castles which left from across the train station. The front desk provided us with a copy of the bus timetable. Each morning, we had breakfast. While the menu is same, the food was very food - sausage, eggs, bacon, omelet, french toast, cold cuts, pastries, fresh squeezed juice, etc. Lastly, the wifi actually worked well.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast and get a bus schedule to the castle from the front desk if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Beautifully decorated small hotel in Fussen, a short drive from Neushwantein. Excellent breakfast, and good parking (including covered in the garage). Service was also excellent, with a nice bar within the hotel and plenty of restaurants and shops within a short walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had originally booked a small double which the owner suggested we upgrade as it was very small. The upgrade was worth every euro; large, sunny and very comfortable although without a balcony. The restaurant was excellent value and we ate breakfast every morning which is a traditional continental one with a god range of fruits, cold meats, cheeses, breads and scrambled or boiled eggs. The only downside is that the hotel faces a main road and it can be noisy. This could be a problem in summer when you may want the windows open. We would also have preferred a double mattress rather than two singles put together, especially as one was higher than the other! The staff are very helpful and approachable and we would definitely use the hotel again. The village was ideal for us with lots of cafés, restaurants and several small shops. It is also ideally situated for hiking, biking and touring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Apart from the breath-taking location of Fussen, being a 5 minutes drive to neuschwanstein castle, and at the tip of the romantic road, plus very close to Zugspitze. Hotel Sonne is a gem in the heart of all this!

To cut a long story short... room is amazing... clean, superbly decorated, very spacious, double glazing windows to eliminate the "noise" coming from the outside tranquillity of Fussen, nice TV, blinds which can blackout the room, bathroom which has both a walk-in shower... and a bath!

Staff are very helpful! Even one time suggested that we would not take the drive to Zugspitze given the bad visibility.

Breakfast was one of the best ever I had taken.

In brief... Hotel Sonne is faultless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Unfortunately we could spend only one night in Fussen, but we want to go back!!
The hotel is in a pedestrian area in this beautiful old Bavarian town and is worth a stay for a number of days to fully appreciate the town and surrounding region.
Hotel service is exceptional and it has an excellent restaurant with a good menu for dinner as well as a superb breakfast buffet. The bedrooms were a little small but well equipped and comfortable,.
overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.