We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay if you want to visit the castles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonne to your Saves list
Hotel Sonne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
São Carlos, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The place to stay if you want to visit the castles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

When we got off the train from München to Füssen, we did a 200-metre walk and we were at the hotel. We received a warm reception upon arriving. The receptionist gave us maps, brochures, bus timetable, complementary drink, as well as the Füssen card that us discounts on museum tickets and free public transportation. There is history throughout the whole hotel: the halls and the corridors are decorated with paintings, quotes, royal gowns, and uniforms of different historical periods. Our room had two queen-sized beds, a TV, a minibar, and, most importantly, free wi-fi. The restaurant of the hotel, where the breakfast takes place, was fantastic, with a variety of food choices, including some German specialties. The staff at the restaurant was beyond friendlyand helpful. The hotel was a perfect haven for us in trying to explore that part of the Bavarian Alps. It is located in the old town of Füssen, and many of the main attractions, such as St. Mang Basilica, the City Museum, and Hohes Schloß, are within a grasp. For things to be even more perfect, it only takes eight minutes to go from the hotel to the castles. If you are planning to visit Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau, Hotel Sonne is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    234
    43
    7
    2
See reviews for
272
445
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything is right in the hotel: location - in old town and close to castles, parking, excellent breakfast - generous and tasty, superb staff - always ready to help, warm and caring.
The only downside is a design of rooms, but its a matter of taste. One may like it.
I'd highly recommend it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I (late 20's) spent one night here before driving to Munich. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Very high-quality property, one of the best breakfast spreads we've seen, friendly staff, cool decor.

Fussen is a gorgeous, quaint little town. We toured Neuschwanstein Castle (should have purchased our tickets in advance).

Definitely a solid 5-star experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Hotel Sonne is a perfect base for exploring King Ludwig's castles and the beautiful Bavarian Alps. Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed. The bathroom was particularly good. There is good, secure parking under the hotel but you do need to book in advance. Breakfast was very good with an excellent selection of cereals, bread, cold meats, cheese, pastries and hot food. There is a cozy bar on the ground floor with a lovely outside area. The hotel is in the centre of town within an easy walk of shops, bars and restaurants. A big bonus is the well equipped laundry in the basement. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This has to be one of my favorite hotels I've ever stayed in. I stayed recently with my parents and my children in two different rooms. I booked specific suites online and each was as nice as it had looked online. The beds were comfortable ad everything was clean. The room had plenty of room for four people and the bathrooms were good sized. We enjoyed dinner outside in November, thanks to the patio heaters ad we really enjoyed the atmosphere. The included buffet breakfast was wonderful...fresh squeezed orange juice was the highlight for my kids. There was a selection of hot breakfast foods, yogurts, breads ad spreads, fruits ad cold breakfast items. Definitely something for everyone! We booked a parking space ahead of time online and were glad we had as the town seemed quite busy on a Saturday night. You do have to check in before you get access to the parking garage, something we didn't know ahead of time. We can't wait to visit this hotel again and see more of the town itself. The hotel itself is less than a 10 minute drive from Neuschwanstein and in a much more appealing town.

Room Tip: Look online and choose a room that fits your needs and your personality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel was well priced, very cozy, great internet connection, and a fantastic bakery in the lobby. I have been to this hotel 3 separate times and have always had a wonderful stay. The hotel is located near the castles, there is a great steak house and German restaurant close by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived in Füssen specifically for the castles. The hotel has gorgeous costumes beautifully displayed making us feel as though we are back in the time of King Ludwig. I found my dress right away! Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. There is free Wi-Fi and parking is a nominal fee. The room was extremely quiet. The breakfast buffet is included with the room price. It was nothing like I haver seen before. What an assortment of hot and cold items. If you didn't see it, they would make it for you! There was even champagne! Everything was perfect here. The service was magnificent, at the front desk as well as in the breakfast restaurant. The staff all speaks Spanish, which was great for us, as our German is not so good. The hotel is a quick ride to the castles at the base of the Alps. Beautiful location, very cute town and wonderful staff at this terrific hotel. This was a last minute thought and I'm glad we were able to get a room here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front of the hotel, right on the main street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.