We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, oh so cool hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonne to your Saves list
Hotel Sonne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Quirky, oh so cool hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a cool hotel! We stayed just after Xmas in a Prinzregent Double, a very comfortable large room with a small balcony. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a good bed and a couch as well as a desk area. The bathroom was fabulous with seperate bath, shower and toilet, beautifully presented and very functional.
The decor is very different. Loved the Ludwig montage in the underground garage, loved the bright colours and the costumes. It is classy and special, yet so very cool at the same time!
Breakfast is very good, with a big selection of hot and cold food. There is a bar near reception which is handy for a nightcap and the reception staff are so friendly and helpful.
Parking is available in the underground garage or on gravel in front of the hotel.
We stayed 2 nights, using this as a base for visiting Neuschwanstein castle, but I wish we had been able to stay an extra night. It was a delight to be at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    261
    48
    7
    2
See reviews for
304
476
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We entered Fussen by train in the late evening. We searched for a hotel and this hotel had 2 rooms left, we snatched one room- glad we did. The rooms are sort-of themed, each with different decor. Ours had a fantastic picture of the famous castle, The Neuschwanstein, on the wall. The bathroom was spacious and had a tub- which was a plus. The pillows and bedding was very very comfortable, this was the best sleep we got on our trip across Europe. The hotel included breakfast, which was great. The buffet is located in their restaurant, Maximilians. It had everything you could want, eggs (scrambled, poached and hardboiled), sausages, meat, cheese, cereal, bread (they had christmas bread for us), and much more. The highlight of the breakfast, for us, was the fresh squeezed blood orange juice. They had coffee as well. The hotel bar is well stoked and reasonably priced. While at the bar we had beer and liquors. The hotel even held our luggage (backpacks) in a secure place while we went to sightsee the castles. Overall I highly recommend this hotel for the service, rooms, location [very close to train stop], and price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a very nice stayover in hotel Sonne. It is perfectly located in the center of Fuessen and only a few minutes away from the castles. We would certainly go back to this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpfull!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Despite it's quirky decor we found this hotel to be very comfortable for us (we had the spacious "Romantic" room complete with flat screen TV in the bathroom). Staff were very attentive throughout the hotel and it is perfectly situated very close to the train station.

We ate in both restaurants; the food was well presented and reasonably priced. Breakfast was substantial buffet style with plenty to choose from both hot and cold. The road outside is noisy but as it was middle of winter, we didn't have the windows open so it wasn't a problem. We appreciated free use of the laundry room in the basement but felt the bar lacked any ambience compared to the rest of the hotel.

Access to nearby castles is easy with buses running from the train station to Schwangau. Fussen itself is a pretty but obviously touristy town with some nice individual shops. Not sure if we will visit again but if we did would probably return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to a bigger room if you can run to it, ours was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The main reason we picked this hotel was its closeness to the train station and where you picked up the bus to go to the Castles in Schwangau. The other reason was that they advertised on their website that they booked the tickets for the castle tours one day in advance until 3 pm. We thought that was a great service. We paid and picked up our tickets at the ticket booth in Schwangau.

We reserved a Claudia Classic room which was very nice but rather small at 20 sq. meters. We were traveling for a month and with four large bags and miscellaneous things, well, it was rather crowded. We booked the room on their website which included free breakfast They did not require a deposit with the reservation. We got a rate of 122.55 euros a day. From the picture on the website the room looked larger than it was which was a disappointment, but we spent our time touring so only spent time in the room after dinner.

They did have one plus that I have never seen in a hotel. In the basement, there was a laundry with washer/dryer unit, table to fold clothes and ironing board and iron. This was for the guests use and free of charge. We used it once and were very satisfied with this service.

Our room was in the back of the building and quiet until you opened the windows to get some fresh air and the noise from the outdoor bar area could be heard. The bar area was very nice and had a limited food menu of pizza, snacks and other things to eat with your drinks ordered. It was always full of people and appeared to be the only facility like this until you walked a few blocks away to a square with restaurants, shops and open tables.

Breakfast was fabulous with many things to choose from. It was a buffet with hot and cold dishes plus breads, danish and juices. You had better be hungry when you go to this breakfast buffet as there was so much food to consume. Coffee was poured at your table by a waitstaff person. We did have dinner the first night at the restaurant and it was good too. It was a tad expensive but had a nice selection of foods to pick from off the menu.

The desk crew were very helpful and spoke excellent English for those who couldn't speak German. Overall, it was a very nice hotel with all the amenities that a person would want for a nice stay in Fussen. We wouldn't stay there again because of the small room but otherwise, I would recommend this room for someone who doesn't carry as much luggage as we did on this trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the outdoor open bar area which is noisy during the day and at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our rooms was modern, spacious, and clean. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and helped us plan our visit to the nearby castles and see the attractions in town. There is a gift shop attached to the hotel that has a large selection of traditional tourist gifts, probably the best one in town (though if you're looking for a nice stein, the shops in the square surrounding the Hofbrauhaus in Munich have the largest selection we've seen during our travels in Bavaria).

Breakfast at the hotel was amazing. An enormous variety of tasty food. When you consider this as part of the room price, the hotel stay is a real bargain. If it's not the best breakfast you'll ever have in Germany I'd be shocked. The hotel is also close to many restaurants, with many located in the square a few blocks from the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We went and stayed at the hotel during our wedding. We had friends and family staying as well. We had the best time, this is a wonderful hotel! The rooms are stunning, with great views and very clean! The breakfast is a feast with everything you could ask for. The staff are very very helpful and they went out of their way to make out stay special. The little restaurant/ bistro downstairs has great food and again, such wonderful staff! We truly ha the best time and can't wait to stay there again one day!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Prinzregentenplatz 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fussen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.