We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altstadthotel Zum Hechten

Save Saved
You added Altstadthotel Zum Hechten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ritterstrasse 6, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 hotels in Fussen
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Zum Hechten Sept 8th and 9th , 2010 on our first ever trip to Bavaria. We can’t say enough about the hotel and its location. If you want to be right in the middle of the Altstad at a very reasonable price, this is it. We stayed in the back portion of the hotel which was great and quite. The room was very clean, open and bright with a nice little balcony (even though it was overlooking the parking lot). The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, which really helped a couple of Americans new to Bavaria. There was a restaurant/bar coupled with the hotel, we only ate there once but had a few beers there many times, which was very convenient. We loved the town of Fussen and our trip to Schloss Neushwanstein, but the highlight for us was sitting in the indoor market and having drinks and snacks with the locals. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    92
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
71
101
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The hotel is centrally placed in town, easy walk to everything (we even walked back from the castle!) No lift is a bit difficult - thankfully we had men to do the heavy lifting as there was no offer of help from the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with our host fussing around making sure we had everything we wanted. Our room was quite small but had all we needed - comfortable bed and pillows, heated coils to get our washing dry.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here two nights and had a good experience. Had to wait a bit to get checked in and finding the parking lot was a bit of an issue but once we had staff there to help all was good. Other reviews are correct that there is no elevator - beware if you have heavy luggage, but our room was large with a good sized bathroom and nice balcony. Wish we had tried the restaurant.

Good place to stay if you are in town to see the castles.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

This hotel is a bang for your buck! Large room with nice-sized bathroom and professional and friendly staff at the reception desk. The breakfast included with the price was fine, very typical of German continental breakfasts in general. We liked the location, was fairly easy to find on foot from the train station! Lots of storage space for suitcases and all things travelers haul around. The beds were fairly comfortable. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would book here again if we are ever in the same area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Hechten during our vacation to Germany this year. Bavaria was our favorite part of the trip and Fussen was wonderful! Our room at Hotel Hechten was clean, functional, roomy, and acceptably modern. The bathroom was great. The bed was fairly comfy. The location of the hotel is perfectly centered in Fussen. The service was excellent throughout our stay. The hotel restaurant has great food and was a perfect place for our first Bavarian meal. The pike was excellent. The breakfast was more than we expected and we were happily satisfied. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay here again! No complaints from us!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I cannot say enough about the family that runs this charming hotel in Fussen, Germany. After missing a train we arrived late on a very rainy night. The gracious host gave us a warm welcome showed us to our room and made sure we could have a delcious dinner at their restaurant before they closed. When we left for a day of sight-seeing another gentleman made sure we got our ticket voucher for the castles from him and saved us a long wait in line. We had an amazing trip but this was our favorite stop.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and can't wait to stay again. This hotel was in the middle of town and the staff was so friendly. The breakfast was great and the hotel restaurant was delicious (the cheese soup was fabulous). We loved Fussen and this hotel definitely made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Altstadthotel Zum Hechten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Zum Hechten

Address: Ritterstrasse 6, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fussen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Zum Hechten 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1001 Possibilities for you!Unique as the town Fussen is also our prestigious hotel. Behind a picturesque facade, you will find an individual, snug comfort, in our recommended restaurant. One can enjoy all the specialties that have been made known through the Alps region.Experience the beauty of the area in the middle of the Neuschwanstein countryside during your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Altstadthotel Zum Hechten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten füssen
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altstadthotel Zum Hechten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.