We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altstadthotel Zum Hechten

Save Saved
You added Altstadthotel Zum Hechten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ritterstrasse 6, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 hotels in Fussen
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night while taking a trip to the Bavarian country. We did not have a reservation, but the staff was able to accommodate us easily. The attendant at the desk saw that I had a Rick Steves' guidebook and gave us a 5% discount on the room. He was very friendly and showed us to our room and even loaned us a converter. The room was about 100 Euros. It's decor is modern and was bright, clean and large. Breakfast was included with the stay, lots of meats, breads, cheeses, cereals and soft boiled eggs were offered. The decor in the breakfast room had a very comfortable feel to it. We also had dinner in their restaurant, our table was outside which was perfect for people watching. The food and drinks were excellent. It is in a great location in the old part of Fussen, easy walking distance to all sites and shops in the old town area. It's about a ten minute drive to the castles. We would definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side, the noise may bother some but it was not enough to bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    92
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
71
101
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location, great rooms and great food. This is the second time I have stayed at the Altstadthotel Zum Hechten and I was just as impressed as I was the first time. The hotel is located right in the middle of the old town. St. Mang Basilica, the High Castle, the shops and restaurants in the old town are only steps away. The Lech river is a short, pleasant stroll from the hotel. The room we stayed in was very clean and modern. This hotel is family run and the owners take pride in what they do. They are very helpful with information and directions. The continental breakfast was wonderful. A wide variety of meats, cheeses, yoghurt, breads and jams were available. The dining room on the first floor serves some wonderful light dishes during the day and has a fabulous dinner menu. The train station is a very short walk from the hotel. From there one can catch the bus toSchloss Hohenschwangau and Schloss Neuschwanstein. This is a perfect spot to enjoy a holiday in this beautiful Bavarian town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My cousin and I stayed there for a night in June and both of us were very fond of this hotel. It's located 10 minutes walk from the Fussen train station and very close to a lot of restaurants and shops. The room is neat and cozy. Hotel staff is very friendly. Break fast is excellent. The breakfast restaurant is decorated with a lot of colors and makes the guests feel very cheerful. There is a wide variety of food choices. The old ladies at the restaurant serve good coffee and have warm smiles. This hotel offers comfortable stay, good food and warm family feelings. Great choice in Fussen!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a really nice stay here. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and location was perfect. It is right in the mix of easy streets to walk around in with many shops and food places. The restaurant and bar was also very good. The best part was the breakfast. It had a very nice atmosphere, and the selection was huge! So many deferent types of breads, cheeses, fruits, etc. Overall very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We came here based on Rick Steve's book and I was not disappointed. The hotel is a little hard to find with the GPS - I thought I was heading down a one-way street, but it turns out the one way starts a block later than I needed to turn. The staff was wonderful. They were able to get our tickets for both castles and had a great restaurant as well.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to stay in this area!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed two nights in June. The Zum Heckten does not have air conditioner and we had a relative heat wave. The rooms were a little uncomfortable until it cooled down. Other than that, the rooms were more than adequate and seemed to have been recently redone. The bathroom was the smallest of all our hotels, and I could see some larger people having an issue. The breakfast was the standard fare, average, but the diner was very good and reasonably priced. You simply cannot beat the location, right in the heart of the old town, half a block off the main plaza and walking street. For the money, it was a good value,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Of all our accommodation in Central Europe, this was perhaps our least enjoyable stay. Don't get me wrong: it's not bad, merely things that niggled and consequently detracted from the overall experience.
Our room was sufficient with comfortable double bed and even a tiny veranda that unfortunately looked out on an inner-yard, which meant we did not use it at all. Upon our (early) arrival, we heard a guest argue with reception, so we left our bags (plus point) and went for a walk prior to booking in.
Upon our return, we were shown our room. I was slightly disappointed when the big, strapping gentleman who accompanied us to our room took his time before offering to help my wife carry her baggage up the stairs. There's no lift. No obligation to help, of course, I just thought it would be good manners.
We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and my wife got a rare steak despite ordering it done medium. Food was tasty, though.
When we asked reception about bicycle hire in the late afternoon, when a sliver of sun showed after a day of continual rain, they quoted us the daily price but made no attempt to modify their price and offer a discount considering we would only have the bicycles for a short period of time.
Upon booking out, I was surprised when reception acted in a very grumpy manner when I asked for an invoice?!?
Positives: the hotel is superbly located in Füssen Old Town and within easy-walking distance of the train station and all attractions in the Old Town.
The breakfast was also very good and served in a lovely atmospheric room! Kudos to the breakfast staff, they were wonderful, particularly the older generation who worked so industriously!
We also found the hotel to be reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Altstadthotel Zum Hechten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Zum Hechten

Address: Ritterstrasse 6, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fussen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Zum Hechten 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1001 Possibilities for you!Unique as the town Fussen is also our prestigious hotel. Behind a picturesque facade, you will find an individual, snug comfort, in our recommended restaurant. One can enjoy all the specialties that have been made known through the Alps region.Experience the beauty of the area in the middle of the Neuschwanstein countryside during your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Altstadthotel Zum Hechten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten füssen
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altstadthotel Zum Hechten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.