We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schlosskrone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Schlosskrone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schlosskrone
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinzregentenplatz 2-4, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Fussen
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked a deluxe room at this hotel but when we got there they 'upgraded' us to a comfort room. I argued that this was a downgrade and they said that that particular comfort room cost more than the deluxe because it was situated in a different block. I wanted the space of the deluxe room that I had booked but they said they were full and I couldn't have it. In reality, there were various families staying at that time whereas I was travelling with my daughter. They had given our room to a family of 4 to make more money. I will never stay at this hotel again because of the poor customer service. Other people were in the same position too and I heard the girl arranging to do this to someone else. The customer service was very poor - they are only focused on making money.
Also they shouldn't advertise free wifi because it doesn't work in the rooms and the air conditioning was very poor and couldn't be altered. One more thing- the door on the bathroom is completely see-through so if you need to ensure this doesn't matter to you before staying here!! We will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    119
    32
    21
    10
See reviews for
135
137
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was the only one I could find in the entire area that would accommodate 5 persons in a room. Based on recent reviews, I was very concerned that this night would be the worst on our 10-day trip. Just goes to show that you cannot believe everything you read! It was the BEST hotel of our stay. Obviously this explains the higher price.
First we arrived into the town of Fussen and saw that it was quaint and appealing and the hotel was near the center. We drove the car straight into the beautiful, clean underground parking and then unloaded the bags to the elevator, straight to the room.
The room was spanking new, with two beautiful big beds, pine panellng, LCD TV, a chair, fancy bathroom with a separate toilet.
Yes, it was a bit hot at night. I did not open the window because of all of the scary reviews about noise. Who needs AC in the alps? I cracked open the window and all slept well. The town is not busy and we saw and heard no train or bus station.
Breakfast was also the best on our trip. A chocolate fountain with strawberries, pancakes, what else can you ask for!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel lis perfectly located within 5 minutes of both the Fussen train station and the Old Town. Other traveler comments on the AC and room location are ALL true; if you plan on visiting in the summer months be very specific about your need for a room with AC, since at least half of their rooms only provide fans; operable windows are not helpful when all windows open onto the main street through town, where traffic and pedestrian noise is a problem. Our room (which we accepted after being shown two that did not meet our reservation request) was small, but the AC worked like a meat locker, which with 93 degree E temp outside, was a welcome relief. Small bathroom, no real shower containment (water all over bathroom) proved to be a challenge, especially with two people in the room. There was also a curious lack of any storage for luggage, hanging bags, etc. in our room, and in the other two rooms we were shown.

The breakfast, included in our rate, was on the meager side, crowded layout, the toaster was broken, and staff was not helpful or attentive in the restaurant. The reception staff was energetic on check-in, but not terribly service oriented.

Best features of this hotel are location; amenities are not really their strong suit.

Room Tip: Be specific about your room needs, and request air conditioning if traveling in July and August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here many times for easter.

PRO: EXCELLENT RESTAURANT, incredible breakfast ! The breafast is available even for non-guest and cost around 20-25 € but it worth the money for easter ! Room are clean and confortable. The hotel was extended last year, with now large parking. Old rooms and new room available. Nice surroundings, close from pedestrian zone. Very close from fussen castles.

CON: old lifts, some waiters looks not interested in guests at all and gives priority the external clients, I can understand that priority is given to regular client but allowing them to choose their tables in restaurant and not allowing it to hotel guest is not professional.

But overall excellent experience with the fantastic foods :)

Room Tip: Bavarian suite is large and can be occupied by 4 adult persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Staed two nights in this hotel,rang beforehand and got a price of E145.00 this was for a room without air conditioning and the weather was hot, but I accepted that as there were no other hotels with air con avai
able and I thought it was fair price for that hotel at the time. Now the hotel is very very nice, but when I went to check out they charged me E 165.00 per night and then breakfast on top of that when they said it was included in the price. The receptionist said that the room rate is normally E175.00 .what a joke, who in their right mind would pay that sort of money for a room without an air con. In the middle of summer, 145.00 was steep enough. All I am saying is watch your account and check your room rate stub that they give you when you book in. The other thing they tried to do was charge us for three breakfast when there were only two of us . I reckon that was where the stuff up with the room rate might have been.,but I was well gone by the time I thought about that. It's not pleasant having to argue the point when checking out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We stay at this hotel for three nights and two were great. The first night the room (111) was big and beautiful, but there wasn't any AC and opening the window was too loud with the busy road below. We moved to a room on the third floor with AC and everyone slept better. The bathroom's glass wall in the hallway was a little strange and didn't allow bathing privacy. Breakfast buffet was the best we had in our two week stay in Europe!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights during August when the temperature was around 27 C. There was no airconditioning in our room, and since the room was facing the main road, we were boiling behind closed windows. Hardly slept at all. In addition, access to fans were limited. Access to wifi was very poor (no access identified during our stay, despite the staff bragging of extraordinary bandwith).
Breakfast was good, and the room was nice (bathroom excellent), but we cannot recommend this hotel at the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Schlosskrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlosskrone

Address: Prinzregentenplatz 2-4, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#3 Family Hotel in Fussen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schlosskrone 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Superior hotel is in the romantic Old Town district of Fussen, 100 yards from Fussen Train Station. Hotel Schlosskrone offers free Wi-Fi and a spa with a Finnish sauna, steam room and 2 hot tubs.The spacious rooms at the Hotel Schlosskrone Fussen are colorfully decorated and some feature Bavarian décor. All rooms include cable TV and a private bathroom, and some offer individually controlled air conditioning.A full breakfast buffet and a selection of Bavarian and international dishes are served in the elegant Himmelsstube restaurant, while Mediterranean dishes are offered at Chili Restaurant. Homemade cake is served in the cozy cafe with its open fireplace.Guests can enjoy a variety of massage and beauty treatments in the Schlosstherme’s spa. The hotel also has a gym, tropical showers and a large relaxation area.Private parking is available at Hotel Schlosskrone's own underground garage. The famous palaces of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau are a 5 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Schlosskrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurcafe Hotel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schlosskrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.