We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fantasia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Fantasia to your Saves list
Hotel Fantasia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ottostrasse 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We selected the Fantasia hotel as it looks different than other hotels. It was easy to find and less than 10min driving distance from the Neuschwanstein ticket center.
We had room #18. The receptionist spoke good English and she showed us the room. There is no elevator, so you have to carry your luggage up the stairs.
Our room was actually an apartment. The first room has 3 bunk beds, then you go through a corridor with a big closet and reach a small kitchen and the master bedroom with master bath. The room had purple walls, just like on the photo. It was spacious and clean and it had a nice balcony looking directly at the Fuessen castle.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom modern. The TV was mounted to the wall and had CNN.
Breakfast buffet (additional 8 Euro) was traditional German breakfast rolls, croissants, bread with sliced sausages and different types of marmalade and Nutella (addictive!), corn flakes etc. For those who like it more like home, yes they had sausage, bacon, scrambled egg and orange juice. Their coffee machine makes different types of coffee incl a great macchiato.
Long story short: nice hotel, I recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    140
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
122
170
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Clean hotel at a good price. Short walk from the train station and the main street of Fussen. Did not eat breakfast. Had trouble connecting to the free wi-fi. No A-C, but really not needed as the weather was very pleasant in September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel and had the most pleasant experience. The staff was very corteous and helpful, the rooms were extremely clean and the breakfast was amazing!
If you plan to go to Fussen do not hesitate staying at Hotel Fantasia!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place deserves more than a 2-star. Huge, lovely architecture on the outside and full of blondish, solid woodwork and delightfully whimsical touches. I don't like the color purple much and had asked for a room that wasn't purple - the manager smiled at reading my request and gave me my choice of two purple rooms, as evidently they are all purple, which ended up being fine by me. The room was pleasant, and had an interestingly- placed image of Neuschwanstein along with a little chandelier on the ceiling. The windows were large and heavy ones looking out to a little park. Breakfast was very good. Wandered out to see the town in the evening (lovely!) and happened upon a VERY good place to eat for food, atmosphere & location - Herzl am Rathaus. Hotel Fantasia has an efficient check-in and out process and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a purple one:0))
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a find!

An old summer residence for monks and nuns converted to a quirky 16 room hotel by the Hotel Sonne.

Our suite with a separate kid's room with bunk beds, a small kitchen, dining table etc led out into their beautiful garden - which had a massive trampoline, very comfy easy chairs and a great view.

Nice breakfast, can be taken out to the garden...tasted even better there!!

Very funky common room with computers....all managed by the very helpful and knowledgeable Maria...

A 5 minute drive to the two castles and a short walk to the city centre with many great restaurants close by. A must visit city and town....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Of the 7 hotels we stayed at during our 2 week trip this was the one we'd come back to - and was one of the cheapest too.
We stayed in room 17 which had a balcony and fantastic views, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful without being intrusive and the hotel itself is ideally located, lovely and clean.
We were expecting to have to share a table with fellow guests at breakfast but it was pretty quiet throughout the morning and for 8 euros it was excellent value with plenty of variety and endless cups of coffee!
There is free wi-fi but we couldnt get it to work in our room but there are 2 computers in the basement which were always available.
There is also a great garden to relax in with a trampoline for the kids.
We highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Room 17 is a family room with a great bunk bed and a balcony overlooking the garden with amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel Fantasia is a great place to stay. It's really close to the town centre, our room was clean & spacious and the bathroom was modern & huge.
The staff were really friendly - showing me the laundry (which was free) and how everything worked. I put my washing on and headed out for dinner and I was so surprised to find my laundry washed, dried and folded upon my return - didn't expect that at all.
The breakfast was awesome (lots of choice) & the breakfast room itself was fab.
If I ever return to Fussen I'll be heading straight to Hotel Fantasia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fantasia

Address: Ottostrasse 1, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Fantasia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fantasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fantasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.