We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of House L.A. City Hostel

House L.A.  City Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added House L.A. City Hostel to your Saves list
House L.A. City Hostel
Wachsbleiche 2, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Toronto
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very poor service....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in Fussen for one night and arrived late on the train. We called the day before to confirm that we could check in between 9 and 9:30pm. The owner told us, absolutely, he would make sure there was someone there until 9:30pm. We arrived at 9:10pm, and there was no one there. We tried calling the number posted, with no answer. By 10:15, we had looked around and found that there were 2 beds left in the 8 person dorm we had booked. So we took those beds as we had to be up really early the next morning. As I was falling asleep, I heard them stroll in around 11. The next morning we were packed and ready to go. We called the number again to let them know we needed to check out. I should point out that the owner through all of this was really great to deal with over the phone. The entire problem is with the reception staff. We had to knock on her door for over ten minutes before she finally answered. We let her know that we needed to pay her and check in and out. We were extremely disappointed in the service we received, especially since we called ahead to warn them of our situation.

Apart from this, I can see how staying in this hostel would be very convenient. It's in a good location, it's cheap and it's relatively clean. It's too bad that the service completely overshadowed the positive aspects of this hostel for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    11
    10
    3
See reviews for
7
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited Fussen for one night, in order to visit the castles and bike along the Forgensee Rundweg. We stayed in the 8 bed dorm in the attic, which was clean, spacious, and had an excellent view of Neuschwanstein. The staff was okay ... certainly not offensive, but not overly forthcoming either. For less than 20 euros a night though, one should not expect a concierge service.

Go out for breakfast as the offerings seemed pretty mediocre but note that they sell beer for 1 euro a bottle.

We really enjoyed our stay in Fussen and found the hostel complemented our experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Rooms a bit small, no cupboard or any sort of closet in the room. Shared bathrooms, worked out ok, however gentleman put the flipped toilet seat down how disgusting... And people shared bathroom means it is the maids day off. Cleanup after yourselves.
The location could not be beat.. Amazing view of the castle, sadly covered in scaffolding for repairs.. But the area was amazing... Yes I would recommend House LA.. Nice old world charm loved the creaking wood floors

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed in a private room, 3 people with a double bed and a bunk bed. The house is sweet enough, though old and therefore very creaky as others have said. I liked that it reminded me of my host family's house where i stayed for 6 weeks in Germany. It was a bit far from the station, but really not that bad, and I definitely do not like to walk. The shared bathroom situation was not a problem for us, and the showers were pretty nice compared to other hostels I've been in. The check in was ridiculous as there was a boy there that I am assuming was new or didnt speak English well, though I could've spoken in German and it might not have helped. He was very slow with our check in, and didn't have change and wanted us to pay with credit card which I didn't want to do. it ended up working out but it was a rough beginning. Also we are allergic to down pillows we discovered, but they have others if you ask! Breakfast seemed lame so we didn't buy it, but wifi worked just fine for us. The tour of Neuschwanstein is not worth 11euros a person in my opinion, but we got in free because the website says that students are free, though the ticket seller disagreed at first before letting us in free. There is a lot more walking/stairs than I was prepared for, though I am a bit out of shape. Honestly I thought we spent more time walking up stairwells than in rooms in the castle...Just know this ahead of time!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie valley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We went to the wrong Hostel when we arrived in Fussen, by train at 1230 in the night. We ended up having to call (they have a phone for after hours people), we woke up the person waiting for us, who then told us we were are the wrong hostel for dorm style sleeping and had to walk across town to the other one. Rather fustrating, but it happens and there was nothing we could do about it. We stayed in the dorm style room with about ten beds with males and females in it and one bathroom. We crept in because we did not want to wake everyone else up. found two available beds and crashed, Everyone in the morning was gone by the time we woke up (9am) and we never even heard them. Everyone was very respectful of other people. We went down and spoke with the staff, paid for our two nights, then high tailed it to the two castels. Which were great. I highly Recommend touring both castles. Our beds were next to the window and from it we could see the castle during the day and while the had the lights on it during the night.

Room Tip: Budget friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The are no words to describe this place. I'll start with the positives, it's extremely cheap.. Thus, you completely get what you pay for.. When you get there, there's no one to welcome you, you have to call a number and they tell which one is your room.. Once inside we wanted a map and some explanation of where we were. We had to call again, the person guided us over the phone to where the maps were.. The map had no signs at all, so it took us around 20 min to find our location-- it wasn't bad, 10 min walking to downtown.
The worst part came during the night, we were in a 6 bed dorm. The main problem is that the house is extremely old and has wood floors that creak every single time someone walks. In addition, it would be great if the owner bought W-40 and applied it to the doors.. You can't even imagine the noise they made.. Sleeping was definitely a challenge at this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Overall, we had no issues with this hotel, but there are a few negatives worth mentioning.

- Shared bathrooms don't seem to be sufficient for the demand. On two mornings and two evenings I had to wait for showers/toilets as they were all full. There was a line (at least three others) in front of me on both mornings.

- The breakfast was white bread rolls (two each) with spreads (jams, cream cheese, nutella), plus juice, and a tea/coffee. For the price I thought this could have been improved, as you can buy rolls and spread from the supermarket for about 2EU. After eating it once, we didn't have breakfast there again.

On the plus side, the rooms were comfortable enough, the hotel offers bike rental, and it is only about a 30min walk to Neuschwanstein castle.

In the breakfast room there is a small fridge for use by guests (but no kitchen facilities). They also have a small TV in there.

The hotel itself is about a 10min walk from the station, and about 5-7min to the centre of town with restaurants and shops.

Everything is closed on Sundays, so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House L.A. City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House L.A. City Hostel

Address: Wachsbleiche 2, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your House L.A. City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House L.A. City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.