We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommadation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastehaus Schoeberl

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fussen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gastehaus Schoeberl
Save
You added Gastehaus Schoeberl to your Saves list
Luitpoldstrasse 14, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 24 Fussen B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommadation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a fantastic, relaxing and very comfortable 5 night 4 day stay at Gastehaus Schoeberl Christmas 2013. It was a home away from home experience. On arrival we received a lovely Schoeberl welcome . The rooms are warm comfortable and very very clean. We could make tea, coffee or herbal tea with biscuits whenever we wanted. As we entered the sitting room area we were greeted by a fab plate of Christmas treats sweets and chocolate biscuits. The apartment was decorated with beautiful Christmas decorations. Each morning we were greeted by the Schoeberl family who had prepared a wonderful buffet breakfast with a huge selection of meats, eggs, cheeses beautiful breads, fresh fruit and juices. It was a fantastic breakfast display which enticed one to eat with their eyes. The Gastehause Schoeberl catered for all needs even toiletries were supplied and fresh towels. We have to thank the Schoeberl Family also for a lovely Christmas gift and a wonderful packed Breakfast we could take to the Airport with us on our very early departure. We could even buy bottled water when we required it at a small fee. The location is excellent very central in Fussen and approx 10 min to everywhere in Fussen even the train, bus station. There are beautiful views from all windows and great natural light in all the rooms which created a wonderful feeling each morning one woke. We would highly recommend staying that the Gastehaus Schoeberl and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Come and stay here Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I stay here summer 2013. I can't say that welcome was extremly warm but I refer to local mentality. Except this all other service was really great. Clean spacious room with twin bed, fresh varied breakfast, hot coffee and tea. The location is great only 5 minuts walk to the Altstadt von Fussen. Overall I highly recommend this guest house!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Gästehaus Schöberl has it all: location, cleanliness, comfort, beauty, great breakfast and lovely hosts. We visited in October for only 2 nights, my only regret was that it was only 2 nights. The house is an easy walk from the train station and is a great base to explore Fuessen, the nearby castles and take beautiful walks. Our room was immaculate, the beds very comfortable and we had a fabulous view. Pia served a hearty and delicious breakfast, she and her husband were both pleasant and informative. They even have hiking sticks, maps and umbrellas for the guest's use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hosts Pia and Georg were very friendly and made our stay very pleasant. The room was clean, large and decorated nicely. Breakfast was great and the overall amenities were great. Excellent location to sights, restaurants and old town. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Gastehaus Schoeberl is advertised as a Bed & Breakfast, but we were delighted to arrive and find a very large apartment at the top of the stairs, with comfortable double bed in the bedroom and also a very large double bed-settee in the living room, and a fabulous bathroom which had both a shower and a bath. Spectacular!
The hotel is also very well located near the centre of the town, and is only 5 minutes walk from the train station and bike rental shop.
Breakfast was well-appointed with a good selection.
The hosts Pia and Georg were extremely helpful and friendly, and even offered to lend us some walking sticks when we went to the Tegelberg.
We spent 5 nights there and willl certainly stay there again when visiting Fussen.
There are several good restaurants only 2 minutes walk away.
Overall it was top class, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are happy to walk up the stairs, the rooms at the top have a good view. The entire place is e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Gastehaus Schoerberl with our family of 3 young adults. We had a top floor room with a rather splendid view of the clocktower and the mountains behind it, and they had a self contained 2 bedroom apartment. The Gastehaus, which is more boutique hotel than B&B, the town of Fussen, and the surrounding area exceeded all expectations. Pia and George are superb hosts with lots of really lovely and also very stylish touches around which give this place a very special feel. They stress that you should ask if you need anything but we found that sometimes you didn't actually have to ask as they had anticipated your wishes. The breakfasts were fabulous and house is exceptionally clean.

We followed all of the advice Pia gave us with regards to timing of castle visits, driving tours and what to do locally, which made things very easy for us. Fussen doesn't get much of a write up in any of the guidebooks and so we were completely surprised by how much we found to do. If you enjoy walking, cycling or of course sitting in cafes or restaurants you will love this area. You can also swim in some of the local lakes. We had a car but the driving tour was the only time we used it as there was so much within walking distance and local transport is very easy to negotiate. We also went to Munich one day by train for a total of 38 euros for 5 adults.

Overall this was an excellent holiday. If I was going back to this area I would not want to stay anywhere else. I would highly recommend Gastehaus Schoeberl to anyone and plan to do so starting with other members of our family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed only one night but were delighted with our room. We had a sitting room as well as the bedroom and a very modern bathroom with everything a hotel would provide, plus more. Pia has thought of everything. In addition to the space, it was very clean. Pia's advice with respect to timing our castle tours was most helpful. The breakfast buffet was fabulous. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gastehaus Schoeberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Schoeberl

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 14, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastehaus Schoeberl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.