We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristic Italian restaurant with ok food, but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Aquila

Restaurant Aquila
Brotmarkt 9, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
08362 / 62 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 76 Restaurants in Fussen
Restaurant details
Singapore
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Touristic Italian restaurant with ok food, but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

It is difficult to find a nice place to eat in Füssen, which isn't touristic. We thought we had found a gem, as the building is lovely and a little bit hidden.
However, although the restaurant was empty, we were clearly told where we HAD to sit - and when we asked whether we could move to the corner table, the waiter shouted at us that he may need that table later. Later, several other people underwent the same unfriendly treatment and one couple decided to leave when he tried to jam pack them between 2 other couples although the place was pretty empty.
The food was okay: wasn't very italian food, more international food. The fish and the Beef "Rostbraten" was good, the pasta was overcooked.
It is an okay restaurant, if you know what to expect.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    17
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asti, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Restaurant is in a nice building, the main village is gourgeous. Service is not good, they located us in a very corner of the restaurant despite many other tables available, probably because of our joung daughter. Not even a towel on the table, food is not bad but nothing special. We have been attended just a couple of times, and the worst has been when they told us the story that the credit card machine was broken in order to get cash. Try another one.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Bare but nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I loved the food. It was delicious and yummy! I had the pok with potato dumplings and red cabbage!!! The waiter was a little over zealous for my personal liking but he was friendly and very courteous! My partner had a steak cooked totally to his liking but it was loaded with way too many fries! Lacked a little balance.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay far, far away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Now we know why the reviews were so mixed for this place. The service was fine, then again, there were only 2 tables with guests so it would be hard to not give us service. The food was borderline nasty. This restaurant clearly does not partake in the "local" produce and meat selections of many restaurants in Germany. We couldn't figure out if the food was frozen and microwaved, or kept warm in a pot. After a few more bites we gave up trying to chew a piece of meat that wasn't edible. The food came out of the kitchen in minutes... probably was frozen. There are really good restaurants in this beautiful little town.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Loved the mixed salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

After a week of eating sausages, we were looking for something different. We each had one of the small mixed salads and one of the fish dishes. First of all, loved the salad. It had mixed lettuces, carrot and corn and the dressing was delicious. My main course was a whole fried white fish with sautéed leeks and boiled potatoes. We ate outside, so I can't comment on the atmosphere inside the restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Aquila also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Aquila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Aquila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.