We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eisenkrug

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Eisenkrug to your Saves list
Hotel Eisenkrug
Dr. Martin-Luther-Strasse 1, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed here at the beginning of a month long trip and got a comfortable room and a good nights sleep. The room was spacious and well furnished although a little worn with a great view of the town out our window. The breakfast buffet was very nice. there may be better choices in town since there are many hotels and rooms but this one was a good selection.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

Dinkelsbuhl is such a charming town, and from the windows of our room you could take in the lovely town square and watch the vendors set up in the morning. This hotel is right on the town square and has its own sidewalk cafe. It is VERY reasonably priced. Now beware, having windows on the main square has its downside on warm evenings as the sound of traffic on cobblestones goes well into the night with the windows open. Also, beware if you must have everything looking modern. The accomodations are adequate, but a bit rustic.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2004

We were disappointed with the Eisenkrug and cannot recommend it. We chose the Eisenkrug based on the (now very surprising) recommendations of both Frommers and the Michelin Guide. We stayed there four nights ago for one night. First the good things: The room was relatively inexpensive, the staff polite, and our room was fairly large with a nice view of the square. Unfortunately, the room just wasn't very clean. There was grime on the soap dispenser button and on the handle of the toilet handle as if they hadn't been properly cleaned in a month. There were dusty cobwebs on my bedside lamp. Worst of all one of the pillows had a very strong odor. It smelled strongly of sweat! My husband brought the pillow down to the front desk and the woman at the desk took a whiff and ran into the kitchen and started yelling at one of the workers! She soon brought a clean and fresh-smelling pillow to our room, but the damage was done. We spent the rest of our stay wondering about the cleanliness of everything. We were glad to leave the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2004

This was one of our favorite hotels of our recent trip to Germany, and one of the best values. For 69 Euros, our room was large, very comfortable and had a great view of the town. Our bathroom had pretty tile and included a tub/hand shower combination. The room had a mini-bar as well. The hotel's restaurant is one of the best in town, with reasonable prices. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was served in a very pretty room. The breakfast was good and was typical for Germany, with cold cuts, boiled eggs, yogurt, breads and cereals. The staff spoke English reasonably well and was friendly. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2003

Travelling from Asia, my family of 5 was on a budget and they offered us a big family room at a reasonable rate. The room was simple, but cozy & clean. Staffs were polite & spoke English!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2003

A great bargain for your dollar. This charming hotel is located just inside the Northern Tower entrance into Dinkelsbuhl. Centrally located, most everything within the town walls is in walking distance, and there are several good restaurants nearby. We paid $69 for a good-sized room, equipped with two beds pushed together to function as a double. Tastefully decorated with antiques, our room had a beautiful ceiling made of carved wood and a lovely view from the windows. The bathroom was a good size with a shower/tub combination, and the room also had a phone, television, and minibar. The staff were all friendly, and several spoke some English. Our continental breakfast was served by a charming young man who prepared our scrambled eggs to specification. If we return to Dinkelsbuhl, we would definitely stay at the Eisenkrug Hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eisenkrug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eisenkrug

Address: Dr. Martin-Luther-Strasse 1, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Eisenkrug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenkrug Hotel Dinkelsbühl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eisenkrug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.