We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely comfortable hotel and restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deutsches Haus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Deutsches Haus to your Saves list
Deutsches Haus
Weinmarkt 3, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Smack in the old center of beautiful Dinkelsbuehl we stayed one night in this historic property. We had a suite in the front of the building, overlooking the marketsquare and the old church. Our rooms were in the old style, with exposed beams and white-washed walls, but at the same time modern and very comfy beds. We also had an excellent dinner and breakfast was certainly no disappointment either. Dinkelsbuehl is one of these perfect stopover places on your way north or south.

Room Tip: get a suite (or family room) for a couple euros more, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    22
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
53
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A good hotel - spacious rooms, very clean, superb duvets, and, most important: you sleep in the most beautiful house in Dinkelsbuhl. You will see tourists making pictures of your house all day long - the facade is just gorgeous.
Our room (2nd floor, front) was very spacious, and beds were good, though perhaps a bit too soft to my liking. This is a 4-star hotel, but the 4 stars mainly come from the services offered, in my view. The room in itself, while perfectly good, was perhaps a bit too expensive and just a bit too basic to really warrant 4 stars. Some of the furniture has a bit of a 90s feel, the bathroom is modern and clean, but lacks a touch of luxury, curtains did not block out the light sufficiently, breakfast service could have been more prompt. We were perfectly happy with our room, but found 129 eur a bit overpriced compared to other and similar hotels in the region. I have not stayed elsewhere in Dinkelsbuhl, but guess this is the place to be in town, judging by the customers in the restaurant, and the cars outside.
DInkelsbuhl is a small town. so it attracts a lot of people on a weekendnight for dinner etc, but at night things were quiet outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed her for a couple of nights. Check in was very easy. We unloaded our bags not thinking they would take the car to an unknown location, We left some water in our car and they looked a little perturbed that we asked could we get to our car. So we just said forget it. The room was very large. They did not have a lift so we did have to lug two suitcases up two flights of stairs. I did find a mushroom under the couch when we sat down. The bathroom was very large as well. We had a drainage problem in the shower (which was very small). I found the room very warm and not well venilitated. Luckily...we had brought our own fan. We needed it for the bathroom. The room was on the fromt side of the hotel. I was concerned about the noise but I found the room very quiet. The bedding was ok. We slept comfortably. We only found one english TV show (CNN) which did not last the entire night. The channel changed around 2100 to a German TV show. You get one bottle of water for free. The hotel is centrally located and easy to walk through the city. We did have dinner at the restaurant next door for dinner. They had dinner in the hotel but the restaurant was very crowded. We did have breakfast the next morning. It was just ok. I have had better...I have also had worse. The coffee was very good.Ignore my rating for the pool and fitness center. The had neither. My app would not let me change it to nothing after I had pushed it. Not sure if this would be my choice again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It doesn't get much more authentic than Deutches Haus. Beautiful woodwork, ceiling paintings, and collections of antiques. Our room was spacious with modern and clean bath. No elevators and limited parking. Navigaitng three floors of stairs as seniors was a bit of an aggravation but worth it once we got there. Dinner in the house was well prepared, tasty and authentic. Breakfast was traditional and nothing special. Dinkelsbuhl is a delightful town to walk around and explore the traditional old world timbered German construction. Nearby beer garden through the gate and across river provided relaxing resting spot and local flavor.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the back alley. Not very scenic but probably quieter than the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We arrived in DInkesbuhl without a reservation and the people at the information kiosk just inside the gate directed us to Deutsche Haus and I'm glad they did. Lovely old house, formerly part of the Winemarket, nicely restored and updated. We had a very large and spacious room on the 2nd floor with a modern bath. The only neative was we could not get the wifi to work. The staff were all wonderful. Breakfast was great; we were offered eggs cooked to order in addition to the usual assortment of breads, meats, cheeses and fresh fruit, yogurt etc. We also enjoyed a wonderfull dinner there. The hotel has a great locatiom; in the heart of the old town directly across fro St Georg's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very well restored building with the dining room features being of particular interest. The room was spacious and comfortable, however the street noise factor detracted very much from our stay. As the hotel was virtually empty, I am somewhat mystified as to why we would be given a room facing the street - perhaps more thought needs to be given as to room allocation. Service was efficient, food good with a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiratsuka Japan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

First of all I REALLY wanted to like this place. It is a beautiful and historical building and that alone would have earned stars from me had not the “attitude” of the owner quickly destroyed any such prejudgment.

To begin with the hotel is at the exact center of town. There is no loading zone and the day I arrived no parking for many blocks away. The entire walled area of the town has a 1 hour parking limit until 2300 hrs. so I’m not sure about the previous rater’s comment about on street parking. We ended up double parking to unload, which was NOT appreciated by the heavy traffic trying to negotiate the very busy street.

Inside the owner, whom in the two days I was there never dressed in other than jeans and a casual shirt, looked up from the bar, which serves as a check-in counter where he was on his laptop and totally ignored us. After a few “entschuldigungs” a helpful young girl came out of the kitchen and checked us in and parked our car somewhere for a fee. The next morning she retrieved the car before breakfast so as to secure a parking place in front so that we could load the car to leave. This was the only remarkable service rendered that I can think of, but then it wasn't free was it?

The hotel was basically empty except for us and we were given the infamous room 15 mentioned in a previous comment. Since it is the easiest room to clean on the 2nd floor I guess it is first to be booked. Indeed the window does open onto the alley where the kitchen staff congregate to talk and smoke, but now with the no smoking laws the customers that want to smoke end up under the window as well. Consequently it IS noisy and can be smelly. Luckily it was not so hot the day we were there so the window could be closed.

For some reason the streets around this hotel are busy all night, and traffic noise was disturbing even though we were in a rear room.

The room was functional, not particularly roomy, and a bit Spartan, but everything was clean and in order.

The famous restaurant was a big disappointment, but I will detail that experience under the "restaurant" category.

Breakfast was the minimum one can expect from any German hotel. Nothing special, and very little food actually put out, probably because as best as I could figure there were only two parties staying there and they didn't want to waste anything. Hardly inviting to see a tray with 4 slices each of cheese, various cold cuts and a basket with a 1/2 dozen rolls awaiting your selection

Ok so far not so bad I guess but the own really gave me a bad impression. First the total disdain when we arrived, and then later his sitting at his private table by the front door drinking and playing some game with his personal friends while totally ignoring his imploding restaurant and unserved guests just gave me the clear impression that he doesn't care. Now I don't expect a hotel to gush all over me but come on, this guy didn't know his customers existed and didn't seem to care much until time to pay. Not a warm welcoming host, that I can say without reservation. I can excuse a lot if the staff and owner try, but this place just coasts by. Do the minimum required.

Would I stay here again..............NO.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 15 unless you like cigarette smoke and tipsy chatter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutsches Haus

Address: Weinmarkt 3, 91550 Dinkelsbuhl, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Dinkelsbuhl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dinkelsbuhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive, relax and enjoy - enjoy yourself!Your way to us leads you into the heart of a contemplative scenary at the Romantic Street, where rest and recreation inspire your spirits and where an excellent way of living also expresses itself in delicious food.Enjoy an easy going time at one of the most beautiful hotels in the southern part of germany, in Dinkelsbühl, a very attractive town dated from the Midlle Ages. Be our guest in our house full of history, tradition and savoir vivre.Out of a patrician`s home , originally built in 1440 , we have created a refuge of good taste, and have preserved the unique character and charme of the traditional property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deutsches Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.