We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden hall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Augsburg City Hall (Rathaus)

Augsburg City Hall (Rathaus)
Am Rathausplatz 2, Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
0821/50-20
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Augsburg's 17th-century city hall, recently restored following severe damage in World War II, is the architectural masterpiece of this ancient Roman city.
Augsburg, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Golden hall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Worth a visit, go in and admire this beautifull hall, if you are there there is a nice restaurant/bar in the basement Ratskeller

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    69
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not to be missed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This building has been completely restored and it's quite beautiful. Whilst there looking at all the cities twinned with Augsburg, I noticed it was first twinned with Inverness, Scotland in 1956. This building is the highland of any trip to Augsburg. So glad I pushed the door (which was closed) or else we'd have missed this wonderful buildings interior!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Golden room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Yes, not bad, not sure if it is worth paying to see the artwork and golden room of the Augsburg Rathaus but it is only a couple of Euro so I guess it is not too bad. I really enjoyed looked at the artwork on the ceiling and reading the information about it so for me it was worth the 2 or 3 Euro to get in.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Augsburg's mannerist town hall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Augsburg's Rathaus was destroyed during air raids in 1944, but was meticulously restored, as Elias Holl did in 1615–20. The building’s showpiece is the Golden Hall. Really great.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW! Take your camera!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Be sure to take your camera when you visit Augsburg's Rathaus! You will not believe the paintings, the art, the period furniture, and the GOLD! Everywhere you look...GOLD! I have never seen anything like this and would go again the next time I visit the city. Check out the "ovens" in the corner of some of the rooms. I believe they were used for heating the rooms years ago. Even they are beautiful to see!

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augsburg City Hall (Rathaus) also viewed

 

Been to Augsburg City Hall (Rathaus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augsburg City Hall (Rathaus), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.