We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cheap Business Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz to your Saves list
Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hermanstrasse 25, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Augsburg
NRW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and cheap Business Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

People looking for a cheap and quiet stay in Augsburg centre should chose this hotel. Everything was okay, clean, and overall satisfying for the rate we paid. However, one staff member was not so friendly and seemed stressed all the time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    140
    80
    36
    7
See reviews for
61
118
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed here with friends for four nights as part of a trip to Munich, for the Oktoberfest and a Champions League game at the Allianz arena.

The hotels in Munich were all silly prices because of the Oktoberfest so we decided to stay in Augsburg, which is 40 minutes by regional train from Munich. By sharing a Bavaria ticket, we kept transport costs down to about 30 euros total per day. The last train back was just after midnight, which worked out just OK for us to get back from the Tuesday night football game.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof and also 10 minutes from the centre of the old town of Augsburg. A few late nights meant we didn't see much of Augsburg or spend much time in the hotel. From this limited experience, it seemed to be a perfectly acceptable Ibis hotel. Slightly small rooms and bathroom with very limited furnishings but good enough for our needs. No English language channels on the television but that seems to be the norm in Germany and we weren't there to watch television. The beds in the twin room were comfortable enough, if a little narrow; it was too easy to accidentally turn on the bedroom light when turning over in bed.

A day or two prior to check-in, I e-mailed the hotel - in English - to ask for some special arrangements, including one of my friends checking in before the rest of us, even though the booking was in my name. The hotel replied to say this was fine and the early book-in worked perfectly. This was very impressive.

The hotel staff member we saw most nights was very friendly and spoke excellent English; we even got in to an interesting debate about Germany, Greece and the Euro over a drink in the bar.

The good service we received before and during the stay nudges this up to a four out of five overall rating from me. Definitely worth considering for a stay in Augsburg and, if you don't mind the daily travel, for a trip to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Standard ibis, good place, good staff, good room, good breakfast, good beer, small bathroom, but standard as we expecated. The hotel is very well located a walk distance from the old city, close to a shoppiong center with cinemas and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The more quiet of the two Ibis Hotels in Augsburg. Reasonably priced, normal Ibis standard but slightly cluttered with slightly better than basic breakfast which is disappointing as other Ibis hotels in Germany offer somewhat better choices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz

Address: Hermanstrasse 25, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz hotel is located in the city centre, close to the Kongresszentrum Convention Centre and the theatre district, 300 m from the main railway station and public transport. It has 104 rooms, a bar open 24 hours, a restaurant and secure pay parking. It also features 3 meeting rooms (80 persons) for seminars and conferences. Guests on a business trip will appreciate the WiFi wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Augsburg Koenigsplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.