We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Ost am Ko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Ost am Ko to your Saves list
City Hotel Ost am Ko
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fuggerstr. 4-6, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Augsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Small friendly hotel located in central Augsburg. Arrived in Augsburg by train from Munich and the hotel is an easy ten minute walk from the station. Checkin was quick and the reception staff had a friendly attitude with well spoken English. Was also lucky enough to get a free room upgrade.

Room was clean and comfortable and although the bathroom was a bit on the small side, wasn't a problem. Overlooking the main street, but didn't have any problems with noise. Also something I haven't seen in a while....rooms locked using an old fashioned key :) The only additional feature I would have like to have seen in the room would have been tea and coffee making facilites.

Breakfast was included in the rate and this was a typical continental style cold buffet (no hot food). The choice was fresh and varied.

If you like Bavarian style pub food then would recommend the smallish pub/restaurant Gasthaus Zum Weißen Hasen, which is just round the corner from the hotel. Friendly service (some English spoken) and the local keller beer is worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    73
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
52
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natal, Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Very good location, it's a little bit noisy but you can still sleep, I found the toilet too small. They had a construction on the street and that got me confused to find the hotel parking. Call them in advance to ask for directions to their parking otherwise the gps can't help you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed a week at the City Hotel Ost am Kö and definitely would stay there again. I had single room, admittedly not the biggest, however it was comfortable, clean, with a great shower/bathroom. The property has been upgraded. There are lights everywhere in the room and I have never seen so many power outlets in a hotel room ever. No problem getting all my electronics charged up. WiFi access has to be bought and was a bit dodgy in my room. However my friend in the next room said that his WiFi was absolutely brilliant.
The hotel is in an excellent location. Seedy area? I haven't a clue what that reviewer is talking about. The hotel on one side backs up to the pedestrianized Augsburg Old Town and on the left side is the famous Annahof. The main train station is a very easy and short walk away. Bus and tram stops are within 200 feet of the front door.
Breakfast is between 6:30 and 11. great buffet spread and they will also make you some bacon and eggs if requested.
The reception is open 24 hours and the folks there will help you with just about anything. The hotel has no restaurant and no bar area as such. Mr. Peter Larkin at the reception was particularly helpful.

Room Tip: If you are a really light sleeper request a room in the back of the property. The trams start runnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfonsinaa, Manager at City Hotel Ost am Ko, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear hotel guest "ralfm1",

thanks a lot for your detailed and pleasing feedback. We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay in our city hotel directly in the center of Augsburg, and share their experience (especially after a longer stay). This helps other interested guests to get to know our hotel. Thank you also for the extra accolade to our receptionist Mr. Larkin.

Best wishes
your Ulrich Family and hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepe
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Out of 6 weeks travel this still remains our worst hotel experience. The only good thing I can say is the receptionist was lovely. Hotel is in a very seedy area, the room was dated and needed a really good clean. During the night it was so noisy...sounded like people going through the bins all night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

From crossing the threshold of this smart hotel we felt comfortable and welcome. Our receptionist was most accommodating and extremely helpful, even taking our cases to our room whilst we parked in their underground car park. There are only three available spaces outside the hotel, but only a few yards away is an accessible underground car park called Annahof which cost 9 euros a night. Quite expensive, but worth it to avoid the hassle of parking in an unknown city. The hotel is in the heart of the city - only a few minutes' walk from all tourist attractions.
The room was stylish, clean and well appointed and the bathroom smart and chic; but beware of the 'welcome' tray; it isn't free. A card on the tray states how much it will cost if you drink it! Breakfast was a delicious and varied buffet served at hours to suit most people. There is free internet access in the lobby and a lift to all floors

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

we spent there 2 nights. We chose that hotel because it was the one that was the closest from the center of the old downtown augsburg with a parking lot in the neighborhood. Everything was ok but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. We were satisfied. When you go out of the hotel, you're just 20 meters away of the pedestrian zone. The room would maybe need to be a little bit renovated and the bathroom as well, as the only sink in room isn't even inside the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is in a good central location making for an easy walk to see the city. The rooms was modern and of an acceptable size. Clean on the surface, but having dropped something on the floor, when under the bed was last cleaned suggests it could do with a little more attention.
The hotel also puts fans in the rooms for summer, which are a welcome addition to help to stay cool in the warm months.

Breakfast was however very good, of typical German fare, and all the staff very helpful and welcoming.

As with other comments, there is significant roadworks in the area, so just plan that into your journey. The hotel doesnt have its own car park, but there is one virtually next door to which yo can pay for at reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Ost am Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ost am Ko

Address: Fuggerstr. 4-6, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Ost am Ko 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our feel good, premium-comfort category, City Hotel Ost "am Koe" is located at the main public transit point "Koenigsplatz" in the city center of downtown Augsburg. The well refined non smoking Hotel with the heartwarming hospitality and Mediterranean ambiance is open 24 hours every day. Our gourmet breakfast buffet is available till 12:00 am every day. Furthermore the central located downtown Hotel in the heart of the pedestrian area offers modern, comfortable and clean rooms in 3 categories. All rooms are equipped with new LCD Flatscreen televisions with SAT-TV/SAT-RADIO and WLAN (T-mobile HotSpot). The rooms offer a well stocked minibar, a free internet station in the lobby and the Sauna with Relax-area is also free of charge. Free WLAN stretches through the whole Hotel area. Adjoining to our Hotel we have a parking garage for your services, Annagarage (discounted rates are available - billing at the hotel) The Main Train station "Hauptbahnhof", all public transportation, the "Kongresshalle am Park" (Congress fair-center and park) and the historic old part of town with all the main sights are all within walking distance. No animals are allowed on Hotel premisses. Last partial remodeling of the Hotel - January 2015 Please observe new traffic directions for arrival, find updated information on our webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your City Hotel Ost am Ko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Augsburg
Augsburg Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Ost am Ko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.