We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Ost am Ko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Ost am Ko to your Saves list
City Hotel Ost am Ko
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fuggerstr. 4-6, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Augsburg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel locates very close to both the train station and old town centre. You can take tram from the train station for 1 stop, get off at Koenigplatz or just walk about 10 minutes. The room is big and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. I paid 55 Euro for a single room. For a level of three stars hotel, the price is acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    69
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
47
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room was spacious and spotless. Hotell is vell maintained. It's located a few steps from city centre and at the same time it's quiet, is easy to drive to and find. Underground parking is 50 m away. Staff is good and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel offers an excellent location for anyone wanting to visit Augsburg city centre. many of the city's major attractions are within 5-15 minute walk e.g. Rathaus, Fuggerei. All day parking is 2 minute walk from the hotel and can be charged to hotel bill. Hotel rooms were clean, but small. The staff, especially on front desk are extremely helpful and spoke good English. A good hotel for a city break.

Room Tip: Rooms clean, but functional, bedrooms and bathrooms small. Beds alright, but need extra pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our first trip to our mother's home town and I couldn't have picked a better hotel! 5 minute walk from the train station. Beautiful old buildings everywhere you turn. 2 minute walk to Christkindlsmarkt (don't get me started on that subject!). Public transport 1/2 a block away.

The hotel itself...I don't know where to start! The bedroom with en suite was spotless! Breakfast was included with our room and it was FANTASTIC! But the best part of all was the staff at the front desk. I just can't compliment enough the gentlemen at the front. They are super friendly! They recommended a local "out of the way" restaurant that had the best German food! They answered any questions we had and gave us directions and suggestions of places to go that we wouldn't have thought of. I'm even excited about going back just to see them!

When we return to Augsburg, we won't even consider any other hotel. This has become our "go to" place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

A short walk from the Christmas Market, which is a treat in itself, and from all the sights of old Augsburg, this was a perfect hotel for a short break in the snow! The room was pretty basic but immaculately clean and comfortable; breakfast, as commented on, excellent (you can order bacon and fried eggs, omelettes etc as well as the buffet).
We'd asked for a quiet room, and were at the back of the hotel away from the main road: it was excellently quiet. The bed was comfortable, the shower room was small but everything worked well.
We were visiting local friends and were taken to a range of Bavarian/Swabian restaurants: food, both in the Christmas Markets and the restaurants, was heavy on sausages, dumplings, substantial noodles etc. - since it was below freezing and snowing, we were quite glad of the fuel but you wouldn't want to eat like this in summer.
The Dom is really interesting (the oldest pictorial stained glass in the world, sensational pictures of 5 prophets), also the Fuggerei, 16th-century 'social housing' still inhabited, with really interesting small museum etc. We also went to Neuschwanstein Castle; a bit of a tourist rip-off and brings a whole new meaning to 'over the top'.
Everyone seemed really friendly and reacted well to our somewhat rusty German.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

During our trip to Germany this summer, we allocated only a single day to Augsburg, a huge mistake on our part. We picked up our son after a six-week study session at the University of Augsburg. The city was very energetic & cosmpolitan and the Hotel Ost Am Koe is situated in the heart of the action. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were fluent in English and made sure we had what we needed. The rooms were basic, but very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Augsburg.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This was the most convenient hotel during our entire 10 day Europe trip. It's right off of Koenigsplatz, the main center of everything in Augsburg. And Koenigsplatz is just one Bahn stop away from Hauptbahnhof. We were right in the center of everything. The hotel itself is just a few buildings to the left of Salamander (the shoe store) and all the other shops, so we could just walk everywhere. We booked a three-bed room, and the beds were quite comfortable. There was an extra heater in the bathroom, which we were glad to use when the weather got really cold. The bathroom was a little snug, though, and the shower drained slowly. But the best part of the hotel was the breakfast, which was included in the cost of the room. It was BEAUTIFUL. We came down on Sunday morning, and the tables were decorated with beatiful yellow tablecloths, tea cups with pink roses on them, and a glass goblet in the middle. A lady in a Dirndl (the traditional Bavarian dress) lit a candle and placed it in the glass goblet once we were seated. The entire room was beautiful. Some of the larger tables had candelabras in the middle, with plants decoratively draped across them. There was also lovely classical music playing in the background. It was so much fun. The breakfast itself was a buffet of bread, meat, cheese, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, etc. The staff of the hotel also nicely let us stash our luggage behind their desk after we'd checked out (since our train didn't leave until the afternoon).

There were just a few negatives. Since we'd booked a three-bed room, we were on the top floor. There was an elevator, luckily, but it was tiny. Also, our room was on the fifth floor, and the elevator only went to the fourth floor, so we had to lug our bags up one more flight of stairs. It wasn't horrible, though. Also, they don't have free Wi-Fi in the rooms. You can sign up for T Mobile Hot Spot (which is fairly expensive), or you can use their free internet kiosk in the lobby. Also, the lamps in our room didn't work. The main overhead light worked (which was a beautiful light fixture), but our bed-side lamps wouldn't turn on. Haha, just as a side note--don't try to put your drinks on the ledge outside your window to get cold or they'll roll off to the street below.

Overall, I loved this hotel. I would definitely stay here again for its convenient location and amazing breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Ost am Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ost am Ko

Address: Fuggerstr. 4-6, 86150 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Augsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Ost am Ko 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel Ost am Ko is a comfortable midscale hotel boasting Mediterranean charm and a central position close to the city centre of Augsburg, right at the pedestrian precinct and only 300 m from the train station. The 49 hotel rooms (all non smoking rooms) feature modern comfort. Room amenities include an en suite shower or bathtub, toilet, hairdryer, make-up mirror, mini-bar, phone, TV and WIFI. Enjoy the ample breakfast buffet, the well-kept modern hotel rooms, the friendly staff, the familial atmosphere and the excellent and varied nearby gastronomic facilities. The hotel furthermore has a small sauna area, a bar and a public internet terminal in the lobby (free of charge), Telekom WiFi is for free. Numerous sights, cycling paths and the recreational area including the Augsburg Zoo and the botanical garden are in direct vicinity. The city theatre, a lot of museums, churches and historic buildings are worth a visit as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Hotel Ost am Ko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Augsburg
Augsburg Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Ost am Ko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.