We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dom Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dom Hotel
Frauentorstrasse 8, 86152 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany (Jakobervorstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 hotels in Augsburg
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had a pleasant time. The staff was friendly and helpsome and the rooms were spacious and clean. We had asked for quite rooms when we made the booking and got great rooms which had everything we needed. There were a limited number of parking spaces in front of the hotel, but more were available in the garage. The location was good: it took approximately 15 minutes to walk to the city centre and there were several nice restaurans nearby. Check with the front desk as some of them are a bit difficult to find for a tourist. Breakfast was nice and had a decent selection of different food. Only negative is that we were double-charged for breakfast, but we discovered it before we left and had it sorted out without any problem. We will stay here again if we're in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room as there's some traffic noise in the frontyard of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    52
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
62
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Dom which is in a great location with no traffic noise even though close to a main road. Our room was fabulous, large, well appointed and with a balcony overlooking the garden. The breakfast was more than adequate and internet facilities available free of charge. Car parking is available at a charge. My only negative comment would be that I didn't find the staff welcoming or helpful at times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed with my family for a night in July 2012, the rooms were clean and the additional bed that we had requested was in situ when we arrived. The room was reasonably sized and the bathroom adequate. The hotel is, obviously, close to the cathedral but also near a good bar/restaurant. Breakfast was adequate without being exceptional. The room we were in was a bit noisy as it was above the car park/smokers' corner.

In summary a reasonable option for a short stay but lacking any exceptional qualities that would draw one back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel! Newly renovated, clean, free wifi, free minibar, great breakfast, free coffee/tea 24 hrs/day, centrally located, helpful staff etc etc etc.....imho, it should earn more than the official 3 stars the hotel currently has. Highly recommended value for money accommodation in Augsburg !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel Dom is a great choice if you want to stay near the city center. The rooms vary in size and I would recommend spending a little more for a larger room if you will be staying longer than one night.

The staff is helpful with sightseeing ideas and the breakfast is large and quite good. There is a secure parking garage for guests. The hotel is also dog friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Although the hotel is in the historic city centre, it does not feel like it: it's an ordinary conversion inside. Having said that, the rooms are fine - it's worth paying a bit extra for a larger room. Breakfast was very crowded and only OK.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here at Easter time. Even though the Hotel was undergoing renovation, it was a pleasant stay. We had a room on the rear and it had a nice balcony upstairs. It was a dual level room with a seating area down and bed and bath with a patio upstairs. Very near the cathedral and walking distance from the rathaus and a very lively city center. The Hotel was surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was very good, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Hotel

Address: Frauentorstrasse 8, 86152 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg > Jakobervorstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Augsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Augsburg city behind the cathedral Dom surrounded by gardens, you have the choice of single and double rooms, apartments and suites. All units are modern, equipped with shower, bath, toilet, TV, telephone, mini bar and free of charge W-Lan. Indoor pool, sauna, fitness facilities and a breakfast patio round off your comfort.Parking in the courtyard and our private garage presents no problems. We look forward to seeing you and wish you a pleasant stay in our house. Illig Family & Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Hotel Augsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.