We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but some things went wrong.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Augsburger Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Augsburger Hof to your Saves list
Augsburger Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auf dem Kreuz 2, 86152 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany (Georgs-Kreuzviertel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Augsburg
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but some things went wrong.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Interesting experience. Basicly a nice hotel, clean, light colors, 10 minutes walk from the centre, (little) private parking (not free). Staff at reception somewhat "distant", but seemed adequate. After check-in a very (too) talkative lady served us coffee and something light to eat. She talked that much that even our dog seemed to think: "Please, let me alone for a moment, I too need my rest". After our coffees the lady told us that water would be shut off in 5 minutes, for an unknown period of time, "so if tou need to use the bathroom do it now, or I can give you a bucket with water to take to your room". Taking a shower was not possible too, of course. In the evening we found out (no one told us) the elevator could not be used during late evening/night, so we had to use the stairs to the 3rd floor. A review of 4 out of 5 seems somewhat too much for this establishment......

Room Tip: Ask for a room that can easily be reached using the stairs, since the elevator cannot be used at/dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
32
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The first surprise was a very pleasant email confirming our reservation! Good parking for the car. A good hotel that provided all we wanted. The room was excellent with an unusual feature! The restaurant wasn't open on a Monday night but the 'bistro' was perfectly adequate. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Ruthy the owner was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English, the hotels in the best part of the former jewlyery capital of Europe, I've spent a lot of time in augsburg and this place is honesty the best place for the money. Top shelve at medium price

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay here in September of 2012. The hotel was lovely - the room beautiful - the restaurant had great food and the staff were welcoming. We happened upon it only by chance as we were headed to Munich. We were so happy we found this place!
We had no issues with noise from other rooms and would welcome the opportunity to return and stay more than one night. As luck would have it - it was our 25th Anniversary the night we stayed here and the Romantik was the perfect spot to spend it! As an aside - there was a lovely Irish Pub next door that we went to for a drink after we had dinner. I can't remember the name of it - but recommend that as well!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed one night here on a journey down the Romantic Road. A big plus is the secure under cover parking. The ladies on reception were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. I don't understand some of the other reviews that complain about uncomfortable beds and the noise of the trams. We both had an excellent night's sleep. Yes, you can hear the trams - the hotel is in the centre of a city - but they are not the rattling, clanking variety one hears elsewhere in Europe. Breakfast was very good. In short, this is a quiet, well-maintained hotel, offering more charm and personality than the average city centre hotel.

Room Tip: The free wi-fi is a little erratic. Fine for checking e-mails but I wouldn't risk starting an im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm 49 years old and I just completed a 6 country-38 day road trip by car thru Europe with my much younger girlfriend. I feel as though my reviews are VERY valuable based on staying at multiple hotels in 6 countries in a short period:
This was NOT a pre-anticipated stop on our trip, but we were VERY pleasantly surprised.
A very cool hip and fun town!

-Pros:
breakfast great breads meats cheese cereal, request for eggs taken
weird parking (Not good for access in/out) but the ULTIMATE in security! and "cheap" relative to the REST OF EUROPEAN hotels in other cities
Super restaurants and outdoor cafes
great area 5-10 minute SAFE walk along main drag to the CENTRE of town
tram next to hotel(stop was 3 mins away)
old city

Cons:
not too quiet ( since on main road with tram(pro&con)
wifi slow & weak all over (a problem with several European hotels)

We planned on staying for one night, but stayed for TWO b/c the area was much more fun that we anticipated AND we ended up taking the train from there to MUNICH to OktoberFest.
We shopped close by at the C&A for our OkterberFest outfits,

Room Tip: we got the "cheaper" "Louder" Corner room with extra windows over looking the TR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I (me in my 20's, him in his 40's) stayed at this hotel during a 6 week, multi country road trip. Because we stayed in a different hotel almost every night, we gained quite a bit of knowledge on what makes a truly great hotel!!

Fantastic location in the old town of Augsburg. When the hotel staff advised us that Augsburg is just a short train ride to Munich, we decided to stay an extra night and head to Munich by train for a few hours to go to Oktoberfest, rather than fighting the crowds inside the big city. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Parking was in a secure, underground lot across the street. Wifi reception was NOT strong, however, so if you need wifi it is AVAILABLE, but just slow. The breakfast was good, with a large selection of breads, cheeses, meats, eggs (hard boiled), fruit, cereals, etc. The staff was even so kind as to take our special requests at breakfast - cappuccino's and scrambled eggs. The old city, restaurants, cafes, shopping (including a huge C&A department store) are all within walking distance. For the room itself - As is the standard in many hotels across europe, the "one big bed" we wanted was actually two singles pushed together. Not ideal but it is what it is!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Augsburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augsburger Hof

Address: Auf dem Kreuz 2, 86152 Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Augsburg > Georgs-Kreuzviertel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Augsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Augsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Augsburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Augsburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Augsburger Hof Augsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augsburger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.