We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's different in a good way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zur geflickten Trommel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zur geflickten Trommel
Gesandtenstrasse 2, Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 303 Restaurants in Regensburg
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's different in a good way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We picked this restaurant because of the reviews on here, and upon receiving a reply to my request to reserve a table I knew we were heading somewhere that was going to be different.

The clientele were an interesting mix of people which I liked and you get the feeling everyone is welcome here and airs and graces are not permitted.

We did struggle a little with the menu as some of the specials were not available so we explained what my husband would like and asked if they could do something like it, which they very kindly did. I had one of the pizza's that's not really a pizza but very similar and very good, but my favourite thing here was all the mead.

Luckily they do offer small cups so I got to try quite a few of them and I can't say there was one I didn't like :)

The only problem they have here is that there were only 2 people working |(and although they were both great and really helpful) by the time we left the place was heaving so it started to get a bit difficult to get served.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something completely different - and yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I can't even count how many evenings I've spent here...

Food: Anything from a VERY hearty meal (try the spare ribs!) to a medium-sized snack (Flammkuchen) to a nibble (homemade bread with butter or honey), soups, nice desserts.

Drink: The usual soft drinks under different names ("white sugar water" for lemonade), beers and... MEAD. Wonderful mead. Lots of different types. Sometimes there's cider, too. Different types of liquors, too. Great: a mix of dark beer and mead.

Atmosphere: very relaxed. There are big wooden tables with benches. You will be asked to share the table if there are only 2 of you using a big table but hey - the more, the merrier. Be prepared for people in renaissance faire or gothic clothing. It's not unusual for people to bring a guitar and start playing/singing. It can get a bit noisy but it's really comfy and fun. There's a private room which you can book for parties etc - I've done that several times and it works fine.
Food and drinks are served from clay plates and cups (they keep the beer nice and cold). There are two tables outside but they're usually taken in summer.

Service: They're a little understaffed sometimes but they're all doing their best.

Really - I can definitely recommend this place if you want a relaxed evening with great food - no potatoes or other non-medieval ingredients! The crowd here tends to be a bit different-looking but very friendly and often open to meeting new people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“quite different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

i've been there a couple of times and i loved the decor and the medieval theme. The beer they served was terrible, but i liked the honey beer.
Overall it's a nice place to hangout with friends in the Altstadt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Plains, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Medieval Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We went to this restaurant because it is a favorite wiith my daughter and friends who are studying in Regensburg. It is in a sort of basement and certainly has that authentic medieval feel. Beams, heavy benches with sheepskin to sit on and a non-standard crowd. The flatbread was wonderful and the chicken and mushroom spaetzl was delicious! Not expensive, great food, friendly waitresses/barmaids, a unique experience.....go for it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zur geflickten Trommel also viewed

Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 

Been to Zur geflickten Trommel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zur geflickten Trommel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.