We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The receptionist who lies about the hotel with no room.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn Hotel Regensburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Star Inn Hotel Regensburg to your Saves list
Star Inn Hotel Regensburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 22, 93047 Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ibis Regensburg Castra Regina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€10 off room rate
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Regensburg
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The receptionist who lies about the hotel with no room.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My car was broken, so i had to find a place to sleep nearby. I found this place, where the receptionist said they have no room, then I asked my brother who checked this information online. Turned out that was a lie, Booking.com showed to him, that there is plenty of empty rooms. We had a reservation afterwards with the price 49€/night.

After all this surprisely they could provide shelter in this obviously empty hotel, but they fool me again with asking 59€ from me for the night.

I had a conversation about this at Booking.com, after it the hotel sent back the 10€ difference.

At the hotel I had a room, when i heard all the voices from the trainstation nearby, all the informations which train goes where, etc., and the trains as well.

I would like to ask the management over there, if this kind of manner is profitable for them or when the whole place is standing there empty. It happened 5th of February between 23:00 and 23:30.

Room Tip: Avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
18
29
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oss, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We're on halway to home and we're very sleepy, so we need immediately a room in the middle of the night. At first we went another hotel, but nobody opened the door .Fortunately we find the Star Inn Hotel. The receptionist was polite and spoke english well. The room was not too big,but it was nice, and clean,the bed was also clean and very comfortable. In the bathroom was everything what you need ( the towel was also clean,white), but in the shower cabin was a little bit black mushrooms spot.
In the morning I saw we 're next to the railway station, but it was not noisy.
So I think this hotel was nice with good prices and good location(not too far from the motorway).
Next time if we need a room we "ll go back to the Star Inn Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have recently stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, I found it clean and tidy and it’s in a great location only 5 minutes walk from the train station, and about 10 / 15 minutes from the town centre.

This is a ‘no frills’ budget hotel but is friendly and a lot quieter than its location would suggest. The facilities are basic, no tea / coffee in the room, no hair drier, no English speaking TV channels, wifi is available but at a small cost. Breakfast is adequate and plentiful, and the bar by reception is well stocked.

As always you get what you pay for, and I found this hotel good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is close to the train station so if you're arriving by that method of transportation then it's perfect. It's also excellent for walkers to access the Old Town which is indeed impressive. The hotel staff are helpful in several languages and the rooms, if small, are clean and efficient. The evenings outside can get noisy but you don't hear that from your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Best location for anyone traveling by train. Not close but walking distance to town center and river, just follow the church spires. We has a problem with our hot water and they were happy to upgrade us to a suite in order to accommodate our needs and also provide complimentary beverages for our trouble. I was afraid that this might be something less than they represented on their website because their prices were so good but it was clean, spacious, comfortable, and quiet. Would definitely stay here again. Here's a tip... book early. This place fills up fast.

Room Tip: We had both a front and back facing room and both were quite The back room faced a pretty garden. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a clean hotel with friendly staff who have excellent english skills. We had a large room with two double beds on the fourth floor. The town is within an easy walk and the train station about 500 metres away has takeaway food and grocery shops. Great no-frills stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

For two nights. RIGHT next to the Hauptbahnhof and I never heard a train. The staff was friendly, helpful, and their English is excellent. Right next to the Old Town and an easy walk to anywhere there. The rooms were clean, modern, and plenty of light. The room quality matched the price. Breakfast was standard and good. I'm pretty sure WI-FI worked, but I remember going to the internet cafe a few doors down two days in a row to print something and stayed there almost an hour both times (€1 per hour). That's right, they tried to charge me for internet so I declined (I should have printed out something like scotcan12). The mall behind the train station has free WI-FI.

It was a bargain that was good for me on short notice. I would want to pay more to stay in the center of Old Town next time.

Room Tip: Print out something to show WI-FI is free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Inn Hotel Regensburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Regensburg

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 22, 93047 Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Ibis Regensburg Castra Regina)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Regensburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Regensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Regensburg 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is situated right in the city center of Regensburg, making it ideal for your visit to this wonderful historic city. It`s only 200m to the train station, and the pedestrian zone can be reached via a short 500m walk. There are well over 1000 designated historic structures to discover in Regensburg- and don`t forget an excursion to the nearby Bavarian Forest. Thanks to its central location, the hotel is easy to reach, and there `s also a quiet spot for your car in the public underground garage, with its more than 300 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Regensburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Regensburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn Hotel Regensburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.