We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altes Rathaus

Altes Rathaus
Rathausplatz 1, 93047 Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany
0941 5073442
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 70 things to do in Regensburg
Attraction details
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I visited there during my trip in Regensburg 2013. The architecture or view of the building is really nice. It's situated at the old city center. You will find some restaurants or shops in the surrounding area. A walk around would be a nice choice during summer time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant and peaceful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is really worth visiting for its cute and peaceful exterior appearance. The buildings nearby are small and carefully renovated so that nice to watch and take some photos. I reccomend to walk along the bridge where the in-love couples leave the padlocks. There are really a lot of them :) However, if you are looking for a place to dine out nearby and do not enjoy bavarian cuisine it may be a problem. Unfortunately the bavarians who love their food think everyone does, too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good tour with some really interesting bits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Tourist Information Office sells tickets for tours here and there is also one English speaking tour per day, which is great for me as my German is not very good (yet!)

I wasn't really sure what to expect from this tour so was pleasantly surprised. You get to see some of the rooms where meetings still occur and their present and past uses are explained, and it's easy to imagine the pomp and ceremony that would have been a part of the proceedings.

However, my favourite part of the tour was the dungeons and torture rooms.
Having read the Hangman's Daughter Tales (the 3rd of which is based in Regensburg) I found this absolutely fascinating and a bit horrid too, seeing the equipment used and how the witness could view everything going on without being seen made it real in a way no book can.

The guide explained how the torture would take place, the maximum amount of time this was allowed, what the results of this could be and the legal requirements for confessions made under torture. The cells were also very interesting and very different to those I have seen in other places, such as where the witches were kept in Lancaster Castle for instance.

You finish in an outside courtyard where they have displayed some cannons and a large set of working scales.

I think the enjoyment of the tour will depend on the guide but my husband and I agreed it was well worth it, especially on such a wet day

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Regensburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Rathaus itself is very nice, but it's it's surrounding area, full of shops, restaurants and others that you can't miss.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This building is a great part of the City's ancient history . No admission charge. It is also located in the center of the old city.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altes Rathaus also viewed

Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 

Been to Altes Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altes Rathaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.