We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip, suite was nice, but not worth the extra 50 Euro for 2 people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residenz Passau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residenz Passau to your Saves list
Hotel Residenz Passau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fritz-Schaffer-Promenade, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Currently Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Weekend trip, suite was nice, but not worth the extra 50 Euro for 2 people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good location, clean, friendly staff. We selected the suite which was 50 Euro more than the double view river side room, but felt is wasn't worth the extra money for two people. The suite was set up like two connecting rooms with the smaller room having a small sofa, small tv, and access to a terrace with a roof and a rather small window that looked out over the river. I would recommend the suite if you had three people (the sofa can be made into a single bed), but otherwise it was just wasted space. Overall the hotel was very nice with a great breakfast, just wouldn't bother getting the suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear R0ving_Librarian,
thank you very much for your nice and detailled review of our hotel, though we regret that you were not fully satisfied of our little Suite. Next time, in this case: Just tell us your demands, and whenever possible we will offer another room, even cheaper, matching with your needs. The first thing we like to have in our house are satisfied customers, not the money.
With best regards from the whole team of Hotel Residenz in Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    56
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
117
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst visiting Passau.

The hotel is in the old town, right next to the Danube and close to the cathedral.

The room was very comfortable with a nice seating area by the window. There was a large HD television on the wall with plenty of channels to choose from. Wi-Fi was free and had a very strong signal everywhere in the hotel.

Breakfast was good, with a large selection of breads, cheeses, cereals and some hot food too. In summer you can take it on a terrace overlooking the river.

I booked directly with the hotel and paid 45 EUR for a single room (actually got a twin) which was excellent value for money for a hotel of this standard.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear pmd76,
thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and we hope to see you again, and will be very happy to welcome you in our nice little city again.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Residenz Passau for a night before boarding out river boat cruise and would highly recommend it. We arrived by train from Berlin and it was a short taxi ride. The hotel is right on theDanube and though a bit of a walk from where our boat was leaving (it could have been right across from it depending on the cruise line you are on), it didn't matter because for a small fee per bag, they took the bags directly to the ship for us while we toured Passau till afternoon boarding time. The hotel is a charming European-style small hotel, extremely well located within the historic center city. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and the room was a good size and extremely confortable and clean with lots of thoughtful amenities, including nice soaps, shampoos, good quality towels....and even a rubber duck for the bath tub. Breakfast was included and consisted of a lovely and very full buffet of both cooked foods (eggs, bacon, sausage), and cheeses, cereals, and a lovely selection of breads. I would strongly recommend the Hotel Residenz Passau for a stay either before boarding a river crusise - or for a few days in this charming and historic Bavarian city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear giselle s,
thank you very much for your nice and detailed review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that we made you feel welcome and a bit like home in Passau (though, beside the fact that the main part of the city is situated between 2 big rivers, there are not so many similarities between Passau and NYC).
With the best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This excellent hotel is right on the Danube with a perfect few of the burg or schloss on the hill on the opposite side of the river. The staff was very accomodating, friendly and helpful. I found the owner to be very welcoming upon arrival. Our room was large with a very nice bathroom. The remainder of the hotel was very lovely and charming with a very comfortable feel. The location was great to walk Passau's Altstadt. The Christmas market on the platz in front of the church was great, especially in the snow. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked the room which had a separate sitting room and a covered outdoor veranda. The room overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear C0rgiL0ver,
thank you very much for your nice and friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked to conquer our nice and little city.
Maybe you will have the chance to see Passau during summer season: It's also very lovely, but definitely warmer. Think about it.
With best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is very well located next to the Danube. However, besides its location, we did not specially like this place. Below are my conclusions:

(a) staff: when we checked in, the owners were at the front desk. Surprisingly, we did not feel welcome at all. More the opposite. Maybe because we were two young guys, and not an older crowd, like the rest of the guests seemed to be? My friend asked whether he could pet a bit the owner's dog, and what we got was a rude answer;

(b) common areas: the only nice part is the common living room, in which there are plenty of magazines and books to read. The rest of the building has a "warehouse" feeling;

(c) room: the room has a "cold" atmosphere. Correct, but nothing special. The bathroom was very, very small and basic;

(d) breakfast: from our trip, this one was one of the worst ones. Not much choice, and the breakfast room felt very crowded. Not the best way to relax when you have just gotten up.

Conclusion: I think I would not repeat at this place, mostly because of the weird feeling we had not to be really welcomed by the owners. In addition, rooms are just ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views over the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Manager at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear CanarioViajero,
thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy the stay in our hotel, but nevertheless we are very happy about your open and precise words, because just this gives the possibility to improve.
We regret that you didn't feel welcome in our house. Unfortunately, after circa 3 months it's almost impossible to reconstruct the situation. But you can be assured that 2 young guys are welcome as well as older couples-it's just a fact that there are more older people visiting Passau. The situation with the puppy (6 months old in September) also is not present any more, but whatever happened, it wasn't our intention to blame anybody.
We think it's a matter of taste whether our rooms or our common areas have a "cold atmosphere" or a "warehouse feeling". If you have a look to most of the other reviews, you can see there are other opinions as well. We are sorry that you didn't like it.
Best regards from the whole team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice and cozy hotel at the heart of Passau. It is a part of the Bibliotek (Library) Hotel chain. Excellent breakfast and friendly English native speaking personnel.It also has a nice Library room in the ground floor where a complementary glass of sherry is offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Manager at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear smanolov,
thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy that you especially enjoyed our offer for readers and bon vivants (especially during the dark winter season people love to sit in our library, drink a fine glass of wine, and listen to some classical music).
Best regards from the wholw team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The location overlooks the Danube so breakfast on the terrace - if the weather is good - is a visual treat. The rooms in the old building have been modernized with lots of nice touches. Plus they're large by European standards. The hosts are excellent and multi-lingual. Finally, there's a hotel dog, a sweet little pooch who loves a nice tummy rub from visitors. One of my all-time favourite places in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Manager at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear D'Arcy K,
thank you very much for your nice and charming review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house and that you could always feel our 'Quality from the heart'. Maybe one day one of your all-time favourite places in Europe will have another chance to be your host. We would love to welcome you.
Best regards from the whole team (the dog included) of the Hotel Residenz in Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residenz Passau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenz Passau

Address: Fritz-Schaffer-Promenade, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Passau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residenz Passau 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residenz Passau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residenz Passau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.