We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the Danube” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residenz Passau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residenz Passau to your Saves list
Hotel Residenz Passau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fritz-Schaffer-Promenade, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Passau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Langkawi, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the Danube”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night at this hotel, but wished we had booked longer. Lovely, large, clean room, immaculately furnished. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and spoke very good English. The lounge was a bonus, to relax, read a paper and have a drink, great idea!
The breakfast provided a great variety of food, staff was extremely attentive. Would recommend, especially if you going on one of the danube river cruises as it is within walking distance to many of the boats just across the road.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear mimtoo13,
thank you very much for your nice and positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house, and we would be happy mto see you again another time.
With best regards from the team of Hotel Residenz Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    56
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
117
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel standing alongside the Danube is a gem. Attention to detail is evidently the mission here and they achieve it very well. The staff are friendly and helpful, all speak English and made us feel welcome.

We had a nice room with a modern bathroom and everything was consistent with enjoying a good holiday. The hot and cold breakfast buffet is first rate and we enjoyed trying the numerous goods on offer.

This is the first time we have encountered breakfast tea with a little timer on the tray to help you check its progress through the hot water. Each day an information sheet is provided with your breakfast telling of that day’s events in town, the weather forecast and the water levels on the Danube and Inn rivers. We loved the public lounge, which is the last word in guest comfort.

If we could have changed one thing at this hotel it would have been the maid cleaning the room while we were at breakfast instead of waiting until we had gone out for the day. I have hated this procedure at any hotel practising it for the past 60 years but appreciate this is a personal idiosyncrasy and one I should put behind me.

The cleaning arrangements would not put us off a return visit should we ever come back to Passau again. Hotel Residenz is well worth a stay and you will be comfortable there.

Starting the famed three rivers boat trip is no problem at this hotel as it leaves from just across the street. It’s also a pleasant stroll along the Danube to the confluence (a new word for me) of the three rivers and then back up on the Inn side.

The castle museum is worth a trip; you can buy a huge piece of cake and an equally huge cup of coffee in the café, both essential after walking up the fairly steep slope to reach the castle. A shuttle bus runs but not during the off season.

Passau is well endowed with eateries and we had some good meals out. No prizes for guessing what the speciality is at the Bouillabaisse Restaurant, where the lady at front of house is the personification of friendliness. If you prefer more German fare then Peschl Terrasse at Roßtränke 4 offers good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear BoDiddleyBoing,
thank you very much for your detailed positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our house and in our beautiful city.
One information to your long lasting problem with the maids cleaning the room in the morning: Just place the Do-not-disturb-sign at the doorknob, and (in each hotel like ours) nobody will enter the room till the hanger is removed again.
Best regards from the team of the Hotel Residenz Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluj napoca
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Excellent hotel. Large rooms, beautiful and nice aranjed. The tv units must be changed. They are very small and old. Personal very careful and well trained.Excellent location in a great city. Congratulations!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear dantudor,
thank you for your nice review. We are happy that your enjoyed your stay in our house. One information: Actually all TV's in our house will be changed into 32-inch-flat-screens, to give everybody a perfect wide-screen-feeling. End of April everything will be done.
Best regards from the whole team of Hotel Residenz Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel had exceed my expectations far and beyond. Clean and big sized room, spotless bathrom, quite and peaceful altmosphere.
Breakfast is reach and tasty. On each breakfast table there is a printout of today's weather and opening hours of the attractions. Great idea!
The rate I paid was 49 EUR !!! OK, out of the tourist season but really huge value for your money.
Will definately come back again.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear eylsgv,
thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you felt yourself comfortable in our little hotel. We are happy to wait for your next visit. We hope to see you soon.
Best regards from the team of Hotel Residenz Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel lived up to all expectations! I had read the other reviews on Tripadvisor and so I expected it to be good- and I was not disappointed! The hotel is beautifully situated by the Danube and everything is within walking distance. Our room was well appointed and spotless.The hotel also has a lovely lounge with a library where you can relax in the evening. The staff were all very friendly and efficient and obviously want their guests to enjoy their stay. The breakfasts were very good as there was a big selection of everything. I wish I had had time to use the sauna, but didn't have a spare hour!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear elizmoff,
thank you very much for your gorgeous and friendly review. We are very happy that we could fulfill your expectations. And your explanation motivates us on our way as the hotel with the 'quality that comes from the heart'. Next time you must have a look to our ResidenzKlause (Sauna).
Best regards from the Team of the Hotel Residenz in Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Close to cruise ports and a few minutes walk to the old town. Beautiful old building. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Dear Isabel B,
thank you very much for your short but very friendly review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and maybe one day you'll find the way again to the hotel with the "Quality that comes from the heart".
Happy New Year and please take our best wishes for 2012.
The team of Hotel Residenz Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Beautiful room, great location in the old town, free WiFi which worked exceptionally well. Lovely staff and management, very helpful. They even organised concert tickets to the choir, months before I arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelresidenz, Inhaber at Hotel Residenz Passau, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Queen-ofthe-Desert,
thank you very much for your fabulous review. We are very happy that you liked your stay in Passau and in our little hotel. Corresponding to our slogan 'Quality that comes from the heart' we love to assist our guests as well as possible (and believe us, there are more difficult things than organizing tickets). We are very happy to see you again and wish you a Merry Christmas.
With best regards
The team of the Hotel Residenz Passau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residenz Passau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenz Passau

Address: Fritz-Schaffer-Promenade, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Passau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residenz Passau 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residenz Passau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residenz Passau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.