We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Koenig

Save Saved
You added Hotel Koenig to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Koenig
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Untere Donaulande 1, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 hotels in Passau
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a very good location just right in the centre between the old and new parts of town. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was high quality and abundant. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
17
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Easy access by car, just exit the main road and drive in the garage next to Donau.
The hotel was cheap to book, but the room was excellent! Lots of space, quiet and good bathroom and beds. When exiting on the back door on the third floor, you find yourself in the center of the old town. Breakfast had everything that I needed, and it was fresh.
I can recommend the spa and relax area. New built with an excellent sauna and steam room. and a nice relaxation area (bring some beers).

On the opposite side of the river is a nice recreation area. Take the stairs up and have a great view of the town!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

ON THE SECOND FLOOR, you can access the old town (effortless) where you get a grand view
of the city, an ambiance that puts you in a better mood, with cafes, ice cream parlors and chic boutiques. Go down to street level, make a right, you will have a good number of restaurants,
right on the Danube. Breakfast was great. To find the hotel, look for embarkation point of boats and Buses. Reserve a parking spot in garage for a small fee.
Its nice to be so close to both river and old town, pay a fairly low price, while missing nothing makes me able to say: chose this hotel, you'll be happy that you did
helpful

Room Tip: SECOND FLOOR HAS A DIRECT ACCESS TO THE OLD CITY book a parking stop (easy in/out) and nice space e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great location, very close to the Dom in the old city, along the Danube, yet only 10 min from the main strain station. The room we got (a triple) was large. The breakfast was also very good, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The design of the room needs updating and some renovation- a chair was falling apart, and so was one of the bedside consoles.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are convenient as they connect directly to the old city. Higher rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I and my family really appreciated the position of this hotel. The staff was nice and the room big and clean. We were at the second floor and we were going out straight inthe city center. I believe that it is difficult to find a better position convinient for the car but also for visiting the town. I reccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Im still in shock, this has got to be the worst 4 star hotel we have stayed in. I booked it because of the good reviews but it couldnt be further from the truth. The location maybe good but thats about it.The carpet leading up to the reception needs replacing, the receptionist does everything from checking people in to serving on the bar and preparing breakfast. It reminded me of a b&b but even then i wouldnt rate it 4 star. The restaurant is non existent, we were tired and hungry when we turned up but no chance of a snack, a pint of beer at the best, we had to go next door to another hotel to get a meal. Our room was very basic, no coffee/tea in the room, old wooden furniture, awful bed, i wouldnt like to moan too much but this is supposed to be 4 star and it just isnt. You can park your car outside the hotel and hope for the best or leave it in hotel`s garage which can barely take 8 cars and pay 10 euros for the pleasure. As for Passau itself i cant really comment, we were travelling back to england so didnt spend much time sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Koenig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenig

Also Known As:
Koenig Hotel Passau
Address: Untere Donaulande 1, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Passau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Passau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koenig 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Koenig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Koenig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.