We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Koenig

Save Saved
You added Hotel Koenig to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Koenig
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Untere Donaulande 1, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Passau
Athens, GA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Central location and good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Generally a good experience and handy to the center of the town. Friendly breakfast with a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
19
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

We were thrilled to find this hotel, which has parking underneath and was right near the excellent Christmas market. Of course, not quiet in the morning, because of traffic the other side of the river, but this is in the centre! So to be expected. Sauna was spotless and very relaxing, rooms spacious and receptionist lovely. WiFi included in rooms. Overall great value for money

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Simone veranda to have a drink while watching the view
of the three rivers junction.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Central location in Passau. Small hotel with view of the river Danube from the rooms. Everything was well functioning
Quiet town on a rainy Sunday evening in July

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Excellent location. We stayed the first night in a room with a view of the river. This proved to be a mistake as at night there is a lot of noise on the river, and as the room was very hot we needed the window open. Not a good combination. For our second night we managed to change to a room at the side which had air conditioning. Slept well here. I would only stay here again, at least in sommer, if I had a room with A/C.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayabove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Pros:
Very good location - just across from Danube and in heart of old town, several restaurants near by.
Good Internet access.
Good breakfast.
Good customer service, we had asked for hot water kettle - they didn't have it at the time, but they remembered to bring it to our room next day.
Looks a bit of walk from train station on the map but taxi to hotel was only 5 euro.
There is a beautiful garden and viewpoint next to exit on 2nd floor (opens in old town on hill).

Cons:
The room was bit damp, perhaps a side effect of staying next to the river and the fact the Hotel building is old construction (though interior is renovated).

Overall we got an excellent deal for our money - 200GBP for 4 nights - perhaps due to off-peak season.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

My parents booked this hotel at the suggestion of a family friend in Germany. Rooms were very comfortable, washrooms small, but clean. Breakfast was also great. Lots of variety (fresh fruit, eggs, cold cuts, cheese, jams, great coffee!). You won't go away hungry! Loved the view from our room overlooking the Donau. Great location as the many river boats dock just across the street. (main reason we stayed here. We took a river cruise to Linz, Austria) Easy walking distance to just about everything in the older section of town. They have free internet access in the reception area. Not something you experience in many European hotels. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — location/internet access
  • Disliked — lots of stairs!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Koenig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenig

Address: Untere Donaulande 1, 94032 Passau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Passau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Passau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koenig 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Koenig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenig Hotel Passau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Koenig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.