We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luitpoldstrasse 14-16, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Valencia, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our stay was five days, and not recommended because both the rooms and the service are kept nefastos.Los radiators make noise, then the room was horrible and very uncomfortable beds, all linked to poor service and poor attention encargado.No workers and has nothing to do with the photos and what ofrcen internet and its Web web.Hicieron our trip to Nuremberg an unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    13
    9
    18
See reviews for
6
8
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel was very plain, nothing special. The location is about two blocks from main train station with lots of restaurants around. Friendly staff. Very little, included in breakfast selection and never ready when they say breakfast is starting. If your looking for less expensive and nothing more, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Older hotel so I was not expecting modern styles and 5 star service. As well, depending on your level of noise tolerance, one might not want to stay above the strip clubs.
However for the price and location, I would say it was worth a short stay. Nothin

Likes:
10 minute walk from Haufbanof
great spot in the central part of town for exploring and eating


Dislikes:
Tranlucent curtains, so if I had the light on in the room, I am sure somebody can see in.
Noisy throughout the night due to my window facing into the strip clubs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

First things first - this hotel is ultra-cheap. For 33 euros I got a single room (WC and shower in corridor) including breakfast, and wi-fi was free. The room was very basic.

It is a very old hotel, and some of the fittings seem to date back to the 1960s. It reminded me of my first holiday abroad in Ostend c 1974! However, it looks to have had a partial refurbishment and it was very clean. Great location, bang in the centre and 5 minutes' walk from the station.

Regarding some of the negatives raised by others - I feel the hotel has been somewhat unfairly marked down for matters it doesn't control: namely the noise from discos, and for the strip clubs.

It may well be noisy at weekends - I don't know - it was fine when I stayed. As far as strip clubs go, these are as much a part of German society as Becks and bratwurst. It doesn't make the area dangerous, but of course if it makes you feel uncomfortable, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

This was once a grandiose hotel, in the city centre. It is now dated, but has clearly been recently re-decorated although basically. The hotel and rooms are clean, we had an ensuite bathroom - the fittings were a little dated in style, but appeared new. Plenty of hot water etc.

The location of the hotel is excellent for a quick city break, you can get the underground straight from airport to a station a few minutes away from hotel. The hotel itself is located within the pedestrianised centre.

The breakfast is good, and the staff are friendly and appear helpful.

The negatives:

The sex clubs and peep shows next door. You will read about these in all the other reviews. They are not an issue, unless I suppose you were travelling with children. There is no seedy atomsphere down the road. I just think people are shocked to see them.

To summarise the style of the hotel managment - the breakfast room has been re-decorated, but they haven't changed the dirty, smoke tarnished pictures. This type of corner cutting is a good example of what I think may be the hotel management's style to running their business maybe. So the I am sure they have one or two rooms like the photos, but lets be clear they are showing you the best rooms, not a typical room.

Everything so far should not be reasons not to stay, other than the IBIS around the corner is probably the same or lower price, and more modern and standardised.

The real deal breaker is the fact their is a nightclub on the ground floor on the hotel. So when we stayed on a Thursday and Friday - There was music pumping out until three in the morning. We were on the second floor, and the base beat was constant and sometimes you could actually recognise the actual songs.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Hotel was inbetween and opposite live sex shows that were also nightclubs, the music went on all night until 7am. We were three females visiting the Christmas Markets, so not only was the area uncomfortable to walk back to our hotel at night but with the music going all night we did not get much sleep for the 4 nights we were there. The hotel was old fashioned inside and quite shabby .
On a good note the the breakfast was very good

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

Being the budget traveler that I am, I don't need frills, only cleanliness when choosing a hotel. I chose this one because of the proximity to the train station and the price but given that there were not many reviews here, I was apprehensive.

Well, I have to say that for the first time in my life I walked out of a hotel because I simply could not stay there.

The hotel is worn, inside and out. I walked in and it took about half an hour until someone showed up at the front desk. During that time I looked around the lobby and the carpet looked like it had dirt from centuries ago and there was a bothersome smell like smoke with dust. I was asked to pay upfront, then I was taken to the second floor where a man was painting all the doors so the smell of paint was unbearable. Mind you, I was 3 months pregnant at the time and the paint smell was the first sign that I needed to leave. But I still went into my room, which was wide open because of the painting, the door had no bolt, which made me feel like I could not really sleep there without fear. I checked the bathroom for cleanliness. Well, there was a piece of used floss on the sink, and the sink itself was grimy. Something told me to pick up the showerhead to inspect it and boy, it was black with mold. I dropped it, walked out of the bathroom, grabbed my stuff and called my husband (I was traveling by myself) to tell him I could not stay there. He tried to convince me after I told him I had prepaid but I told him I didn't care if I lost them money, there was no chance I was going to stay in that dump.

I went back to the front desk and told the clerk that I could not stay there because the room was dirty, he asked if I could go up to show him where it was dirty, I told him he could go check it out himself, that I had had enough. It took one hour on the phone with my husband and the clerk for the hotel to agree to reimburse one night (my German was not good enough to negotiate this with the German-speaking clerk).

I left and checked myself into the Ibis hotel a few doors down, which was was twice the price but blissfully clean and safe.

So, unless you really don't care about cleanliness, the location and price are hard to beat. But I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, ever.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 14-16, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg > Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.