We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average castle but worth seeing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle)

Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle)
Burg 13, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
09 11 24 46 59-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 65 Attractions in Nuremberg
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“average castle but worth seeing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The castle is in a very good location standing on the hill next to the old town. Good views from the walls. Unfortunately during our visit the castle was under renovations and the insides were not wort visiting according to the tourist information office at the castle.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    313
    92
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It makes the town, roots it in history. A lot of it is being renovated inside; I wouldn't bother with the tour, which has been reduced to ten minutes. But wander the grounds and marvel at medieval aggression. You can jsut imagine Game of Thrones!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Is nice in Spring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The walk to the castle was nice and the view from the top was great too. I just found the exhibition very basic with no English explanations. The guided tours were only in German which I was going to do but had no idea where the group was meeting! The main exhibitions were closed as well. The walk through the castle gardens and surrounding areas was very relaxing on a warm day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunzenhausen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the must see places to visit in Nurnberg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A must visit when in Nurnberg, but unfortunately a big part is under construction now. Will look forward to visit when works are over. Best views of the city

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
310 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“It is a must when you visit Nuremberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed the panoramic view of the city of Nuremberg.
Actually we walk iside the castle but we dident see inside places and i dont khow if there is anything interesting ,but the view was the point.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle) also viewed

 

Been to Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiserburg Nurnberg (Nuremberg Castle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.