We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“War Crimes Trial Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast)

Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast)
Furtherstrasse 110, Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 65 Attractions in Nuremberg
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Cruz Bay, St. John
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“War Crimes Trial Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We loved the opportunity to see the Court Room 600 at the Court House in Furth, just NW of Nuremberg where the war crimes trials after WWII were held. Instead of following Stalins joking suggestion of just shooting 50,000 German Officers (It turned out that the Russians had executed 30,000 Poles at the start of the war when they illegally split Poland in half with the Nazis) the US and UK insisted on trials. The exhibits were extremely fair but brutal. Few countries have the courage to put up such as thorough exhibit for its peoples prior black history. It was thorough and though I am a student of history, I learned some facts that are little publicized and were unknown prior to my visit. We visited on a weekend (to see the actual court room) and also on two weekdays to take in every bit of detail. I was a prosecutor in State and Federal courts in the USA but was astounded the court room was no bigger than my county courtroom, despite prior pictures and assumption of this huge courtroom. Excellent exhibit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    101
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

If Nuremberg is synonimous with the Nazi party, than it is also synonimous with the trials that took place in this Palace. We were very fortunate to be able to spend some time in the room 600 where the trials are held. It is often closed due to real trials that still take place in this courtroom. The museum in the upper floor offers a great explanation of the trials.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One if the most important and interesting cites in Nuremberg - a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I've spent 2 hours there and didn't cover it all - it's an amazing testimony, amazing exhibition, monumental memorial - highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

this was an amazing visit, you can visit room 600 where the trials were held on most days (except when it is closed for an actual trial, better call). The room has been returned to its original and is used as a courtroom for big trials. The museum is excellent, with English audio guides. You can get here easily with the S Bahn from the main train station.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibit & real life historical setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

When we visited, we were lucky to get to go in and sit in the actual courtroom 600 where the trials occurred (sometimes you have to view it through windows on the 3rd floor). There are small screens in the courtroom which show you where people sat and it runs video clips (which are cued to the language of your audio guide) of excerpts from the trials of the Nazi leaders. The presentation of information in the 3rd floor exhibit area was really excellent! We just did the self-guided tour instead of paying for a guide. Some of the information about the concentration camps is intense, but it is real history and needs to be told.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast) also viewed

 

Been to Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.