We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One if the most important and interesting cites in Nuremberg - a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast)

Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast)
Furtherstrasse 110, Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 69 attractions in Nuremberg
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One if the most important and interesting cites in Nuremberg - a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I've spent 2 hours there and didn't cover it all - it's an amazing testimony, amazing exhibition, monumental memorial - highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    77
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

this was an amazing visit, you can visit room 600 where the trials were held on most days (except when it is closed for an actual trial, better call). The room has been returned to its original and is used as a courtroom for big trials. The museum is excellent, with English audio guides. You can get here easily with the S Bahn from the main train station.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibit & real life historical setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

When we visited, we were lucky to get to go in and sit in the actual courtroom 600 where the trials occurred (sometimes you have to view it through windows on the 3rd floor). There are small screens in the courtroom which show you where people sat and it runs video clips (which are cued to the language of your audio guide) of excerpts from the trials of the Nazi leaders. The presentation of information in the 3rd floor exhibit area was really excellent! We just did the self-guided tour instead of paying for a guide. Some of the information about the concentration camps is intense, but it is real history and needs to be told.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
174 attraction reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Up close and personal view of Court Room 600”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were fortunate to visit here on a Sunday which means that the court room was open to visitors. During the week, it is a crap shoot because they still use the court room for current trials. Our guide was an encyclopedia of information and was able to tell us exactly where everyone was sitting, what they said, what the judges thought, etc. We were all captivated for the 30-40 minutes we were in here. The room itself has been slightly altered since the 1946 verdicts, but we were able to see how and why, etc. There is a movement in the city to close the court room to everyday trial and move it, and to restore it to its original state.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Plenty of information as to how and why the Nazi war criminals were tried. Well set out, including video footage in the actual court room. where the trials were held. I believe it is a normal court house during the week, so you can only go on Saturdays into the court room itself, but the rest of the museum is available at all times.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast) also viewed

 

Been to Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nuremberg Palace of Justice (Justizpalast) to your Saves list