We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most horrible so far” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plarrer

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Plarrer to your Saves list
Hotel Plarrer
Am Plarrer 2, 90429 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 129 Hotels in Nuremberg
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“the most horrible so far”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Good points: excellent location, free wi-fi
Bad points: very tired rooms, hostile owner, 199euro/night is something beyond any stretched imagination after you see what you getting for it, but running away will be late as every one needs to settle the bill in full before you get the key, well, later you realise why.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
1
3
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Dreadful hotel and at 199 euros for one night, the worst value i have ever experienced. Upon arriving there is an "unlocked" door that I felt i would break if i pushed any harder. The "hotelier" (ha) gave me a scornful look as he gestured to the tatty "door is unlocked" sign. The room for which one pays for upon arrival was tatty, walls dirty and thin. TThe curtains and windows were filty. The bathroom was an injustice to 1960s bathroom design. Walls are thin and night noise cosiderable. There was one plug point - by the door. Breakfast was a desultory affair attende to by a miserable and desultory woman. As i left, the "hotelier" was stretched out lying across the two leather chairs in the reception with an unpleasant leer on his face. The woman working there strangely rushed into the office as i entered. What could they have been doing... Don't go there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

If you want to be right near the old town, 30 seconds from the train, and want nothing more than a very cheap place to sleep, I haven't been able to beat it. 45 Euros per night with en-suite is what we pay! Don't expect the greeting and service you would get from more expensive hotels. It's not quite the German 'Fawlty Towers', but not far off - just indifferent service. The breakfast is good and the rooms are clean plus have free wi-fi. There is a bar but no draught beer as I recall and no-one seems to use it anyway. Who cares about that when you are literally minutes away from some fantastic bars. Manage your expectations and you won't get cheaper in the city if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The accomodations were way overpriced but that wasnt the worst part. The manager, a female i believe named Janet was extremely rude to my wife and her friends. When i walked into the situaution she continued to treat all of us as if we were intruders rather than guests. Also they lie about the free parking. When you ask where it is they will tell you its full when in reality it doesnt exist and you will have to pay 13 euro a day at a nearby garage. I pray you dont make the mistake we did.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Calling the rooms sparse would be a compliment. Breakfast was average. Fairly convenient location near the old city, but not even close to worth the cost of staying here. The service is terrible.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The hotel is pretty conveniently located - a few steps from U-tube and within a short walk to a city center.
I'm afraid that's the only advantage of this hotel.
Indifferent, sleepy staff. Payment upon arrival. Street noize. Poor lightning.
We booked the room with the shower, shared toilet. It was awful - only one WC room on the floor was open. They do not provide towels although there is shower in the room. There is even special instruction for turning TV - it's not enough just to push the button to do it as usual.
Also I was really shocked by the fact that doors of free room were wide open.
So you get the key at the reception, go upstairs and see that your room is open - and there is no possibility to be sure that there was no one here after cleaning .
Breakfast is served in a nice room which, I presume, is used as restaraunt in daytime. Breakfast is simle, but a quite adequate - choise of ham, cheese, bread, tea/coffee, juice.
Right after breakfast we checked out and it was a relief.
So if you have no choise and limited by budget for one night stay it's OK. But if you have to stay in Nurenberg longer - spare no expense and try to find another place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

My experience at Hotel Plarrer is not good comparatively during my whole trip in Europe this June. The description said it’s near metro and bus stop, quite right! Am Plarrer, a kind of big and busy circus where the street no. is counted around the circus, is situated on the edge of old city centre.
At the afternoon we left metro station, we got a headache because we couldn’t see any fascia of the hotel. We asked a lady worked in this circus, she’s very helpful but at last she didn’t find it either. We’d no other way but to carry the heavy baggage, went across the roads to go around the circus to try our luck. Yes, it’s actually not far away from the metro. I think as the hotel is on the 4th floor of a building, so no one is aware of its existence! If you walk from train station, it’s not easy. Although the web told me it took 10 min to walk there, the lady in Tourist Centre said it took at least 20min. I believe the latter. Anyway, once you become familiar with the map of Nurnberg old city centre, you can reach the hotel easily via some small streets.

However, the noise from the heavy traffic outside the hotel is another significant problem, at night and from early morning! I’ll definitely not stay at Hotel Plarrer any more unless a room not facing the high street (at the other side of the building is quieter) is guaranteed by someone in charge.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plarrer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plarrer

Address: Am Plarrer 2, 90429 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 129 Hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Plarrer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plarrer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.