We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beutiful hotel with friendly environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Vosteen

Save Saved
You added Design Hotel Vosteen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 5 more sites!
Design Hotel Vosteen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindenaststrasse 12, 90409 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€80 (EUR)
Ranked #3 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beutiful hotel with friendly environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I visited last last week to Nuremberg.on the way accidentally I found this hotel.the rooms are more spacious.THe break first was very delicious and It was nicely arranged. I had a real German breakfast.It is 5minuts drive from town centre.IT is centre for all the ancient places in Nuremberg.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
49
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benediktbeuern, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked 2 rooms well in advance of our weekend stay with family in this hotel. We specifically booked the larger room so that we could spend the evenings together.

This hotel is essentially only for families that can tolerate a lot of extra noise coming from the neighboring rooms above and next door (talking, footsteps, other kids banging about). Room Gartenblick is tiny (which we knew) but the mattress is awful hard and small. While the decor is from the 60s and 70s, I am betting that the mattress also dates from this time period. There is no air conditioning, or ventilation. However the rooms and hotel are clean.

The breakfast room is small and there are not enough tables to accommodate all the guests. When full, there is not much room to move around and select your food from the buffet. The selection of food is adequate.

Unfortunately the owner Christina decided to transfer our booking to a family with 3 children, without a phone call or email. This simple contact would have allowed us to reevaluate our plans to stay in this hotel. But what was more miserable was listening to all of the owner excuses and bemoaning that she has too much to do. She first tried to explain that there was a double booking, even though that was untrue because she admitted we booked the room first. Then she said she cannot know everything that is happening in the hotel, even though she explained it is the smallest in town with only 11 rooms, and tried to blame the young apprentice. She kept on making excuses for what seemed like an eternity, instead of being professional and explaining she made a mistake and was willing to offer some compensation. Then we were told that she cant make everyone happy, and we fall into the 5% that will never be happy. The entire time she was ranting, she could not even look us in the eye and apologize for her mistake. While she eventually moved our parents to a bit larger room, she then made other guests unhappy since they did not receive the room they booked. She clearly has NO understanding of professionalism and customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very well located near the old city. The rooms are not big but perfectly designed. The breakfast is excellent and the employees very kind and helpful. I am coming every year for the Toy Fair and I wouldn't change for another location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modica, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was in Design Hotel last week, attending at Nuremberg Fair. The hotel is very beautiful and very well located (just 5 min walk from nearest underground stop). The owner, Mrs Cristina is a very kind person, she was always available to help us when we had to solve some problems in the fair as to provide me a delicious vegan breakfast. THANKS!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Design Hotel Vosteen is somewhat outside the center of Nuremberg. We found the walk into the center easy and pleasant, despite it being cold and snowy during our visit.

The staff here are wonderfully attentive and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome, shown to our room, and when we had settled and got ready to head into town, they gave us a map and explained where we were and how to navigate. We always appreciate staff who take time to do this.

Our room was "Audrey". It had plenty of storage so we could unpack and stow the bags out of the way. There was a nice chair for reading, the bed was comfortable, wifi worked great and we had a tub and shower.

It appeared that the morning staff had many responsibilities, as we ended up seating ourselves for breakfast and the breakfast room seemed to be almost completely unattended. The tables were not cleared and we had to search for a table with unused places, which was a bit of a drag. We also got the impression that the breakfast selection was best for those who arrived earliest and those who came down later got what was left.

I really could not decide whether to give Design Hotel Vosteen 3 or 4 stars. I think it's better than average, but based on the breakfast situation, I didn't feel like I could rate it very good. That said, it is a lovely and clean hotel, in easy walking distance to the town center.

We were able to hear some noise from other rooms, but it did not disturb us to the point that it detracted from our stay. If noise bothers you, this could be a problem.

Room Tip: Audrey is a comfortable room, with attractive decor, plenty of storage, and a nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Hotel had a relaxed and stress-free atmosphere. There was no sense of someone wanting to clean around about you. It felt more like having free use of someone's home. It is very close to the city centre (about an 8 min easy walk). As there are no mini bars in the rooms, drinks and (free) snacks including cake, tea, coffee, etc can be taken from downstairs and brought to the room - we loved this facility. They even had homemade schnaps on offer for free! If there is one criticism to be made it is that there is no lift as the house is of a certain era that doesn't seem to allow for one. And the bathrooms could do with a little more shelf space to place a toilet bag on or hooks to hang thing from. All in all, I would really recommend the hotel and would stay there again at the drop of a hat!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Room called Blüten and recommend it for size and lovely decor and garden view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent place to stay. The only drawback was that the room was tiny (there may be larger). Very clean. The receptionist (I regret losing her name was pleasant, nice and extremely helpful). Very well situated just outside the city walls, In a quiet street. We did not drive so there was no need to park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Design Hotel Vosteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Vosteen

Also Known As:
Vosteen Hotel Nuremberg
Address: Lindenaststrasse 12, 90409 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#2 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Hotel Vosteen 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Design Hotel Vosteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Vosteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.