We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Vosteen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Vosteen to your Saves list
Design Hotel Vosteen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindenaststrasse 12, 90409 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kokomo, Indiana
1 review
“Home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Design Hotel Vosteen was the perfect home base for a week working in Nuremberg. Several colleagues stayed here as well. The inn was charming, comfortable, and definitely not like a corporate hotel. Internet access was easy and trouble-free. Easy walking distance to the Nuremberg Castle and the old city, and Christina helped set up dinners and activities for our group. I wanted to stay forever--and at this price, it seemed almost possible.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    55
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
49
70
18
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Everything is perfect in this hotel. The rooms are pretty, the owner and the staff are profesionnal and very friendly. The breakfasts are wonderful and the hotel is perfectly located very near the old city. My only regret was to be too busy to enjoy it more!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agios Konstantinos, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights and was wonderful. the room was comfortable, the staff very friendly, polite and helpful one of the best ever met. Breakfast was good. Coffee machine available 24h in the lobby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

There are many hotels in Nuremberg, but none quite like this. It's filled with original and thoughtful design, and you definitely have a sense of place here - no identikit rooms.
It's very clean with excellent, friendly and personal service. It's in a quieter residential area with a few restaurants nearby, and around a 15-20 minute walk into the centre of town. Definitely a good place if you're looking for a calmer more relaxed place to stay than a big chain, and with little extras like fruit and gingerbread in reception it's got a special personal feel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Do not be put off by the hotel's location, which is a 10-15 minute walk from the Hauptmarkt (depending on whether it is downhill to go or uphill to come back). At the end of the street (turn right out of the hotel) is the tram stop (number 9) which goes to the main station and the rally grounds or turn left out of the hotel for a 5 minute walk to Rathenhauplatz where you can get the number 9 tram, the u-bahn - two stops to the main station where you can change to go to Lorenzplatz and Court 600 - and the very useful bus number 36. This bus winds its way to the Hauptmarkt and if you go away from town it also goes to the rally grounds. It runs every 10 minutes in the day and every 20 minutes later in the evening. We planned our exit from the old town each evening to catch this bus and save our weary legs. A further tip is to get a 7 day Mobicard. This cost 18.70 Euros and our family of four got great value over the five days in Nuremberg. The u-bahn from Rathenhauplatz also goes to the airport. Whilst a taxi to the hotel is only 15 Euros you can save money if you are travelling light.

The hotel itself is good value for money. We had two adjacent rooms on the third floor (no lift so be aware if you have trouble with stairs). The rooms weren't huge but were perfectly comfortable and clean and there was absolutely no noise at night so we all slept well. There are larger rooms on other floors and the third room on the third floor looked lovely - they are obviously more expensive than ours but are an option if you need more space. The breakfast was ample and tasty - fruit, yogurts, salmon, meats, cheese, pastries, cereal etc, and a coffee machine that provided good, free coffee all day. There is no proper reception, which is fair enough as this is not a large hotel, but the girls on the desk were generally helpful and friendly. We did have a chuckle at one girl who spoke reasonably good english one morning but remained completely German when there was a slight taxi problem to resolve. I must say though that considering how poor our German is we are not in a position to criticise!

As far as the town itself is concerned we were really impressed and it delivered more than we had expected. Durer House was well worth a visit, as was Court 600 and the Nazi Rally Grounds. We went to a FC Nuremberg football match and thoroughly enjoyed it. The weather was cold but bright and sunny and it was nice just to relax in the beautiful town and enjoy the local sausages and beer. We enjoyed the food at the Alte Kuche restaurant - the atmosphere was great and the rustic food was very good, especially the pork shoulder with crackling I would thoroughly recommend Nuremberg itself and the Hotel Vosteen as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We checked in last in the afternoon, the owner was very helpful. Helped find free parking, showed me what to do and helped carry my bags to the room. The rooms are somewhat small, but very clean. The breakfast was the best I had on my trip, great assortment of cheese, bread and fruits.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Very good location quite near the old city wall on the northeast side town. Very friendly manager. Small hotel in residential neighborhood gave a less"touristy" experience. Breakfast was very nice in an attractive dining room looking over a pleasant garden.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Hotel Vosteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Vosteen

Address: Lindenaststrasse 12, 90409 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#4 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Hotel Vosteen 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Design Hotel Vosteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vosteen Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Vosteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.