We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private Hotel in Nurnberg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marienbad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marienbad to your Saves list
Hotel Marienbad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eilgutstrasse 5, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“private Hotel in Nurnberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

we checked in on Friday night we were met by a very friendly Man who spoke English very well.He was the Son of the owners .We were given a good size room with bathroom ,Tv is good it gives at least 3 english speaking channels. Wifi is available for a few euros , Breakfast was very good there was choice of yoghuts and fruit cereal and Eggs and sausages . For the price of $89 euros this i thought was very good , There is also a small minibar fridge in the room which can be used for your own things , The hotel is about 50 metres from the western end of the Central station. This is very convenient for anyone travelling by train like myself ,Personnally i like to support Private Hotels and this is a good one

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are quiter because they are not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
31
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we had been informed when we booked that the elevator will not be working due to renovations.we were on first floor.it was silent,we slept well.the hotel was very close to the train station and the police headquarters.we stayed about a week as we planned daily trips to Bamberg and Munich and Würzburg.however mostly when we entered the hotel there was no one around at the reception.people usually stayed for a day or two.linens were clean and the towels were changed every day.but twice we found things that did not belong to us in our room.once a screw driver and then an invoice for some guest! some long hair on the bathroom wall which did not belong to us as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Let's start with a fact that is basic to put reviews on perspective:

-I booked a double room to be used by one person. Room+Breakfast was 65 euros per night in this 3 stars hotel.

- Location: The hotel is 50m away from the train station and 10 min away from the city center on foot. Usually in Germany I try to avoid areas surrounding train stations as they are usually edgy, but this is not the case in Nuremberg. The Sheraton Hotel is just next door and so are several other known hotels.

- The room was standard, with a huge tv but a small bathroom.

- One of the best features of this hotel are the people working on it. Everyone made me feel really welcomed and they were more than happy to help me with suggestions and even providing maps for the city.

- Breakfast was basic. I would have loved a bigger variety but taking into account the price for the night is acceptable.

- The only inconvenience was that I did my booking well in advance so I didn't know about the renovations going on. They are changing the lift and therefore you could hear people working from early in the morning. Hopefully I think they will finish those works in September 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stations in German cities are often surrounded by red-light districts. Nuremberg is an exception - this hotel is only a few hundred metres from the side entrance to the main station down a very quiet street made up of other respectable hotels and various financial offices. It is a few minutes walk to the national railway museum and to the historic walls around the city centre. The rooms are compact but clean and comfortable. Reception were friendly and breakfast very good, although the buffet area is a bit cramped. We had the warmest of welcomes from staff who spoke excellent English. I wouldn't particularly join the criticism of the decor - it is more a reflection of German tastes in this sort of hotel. For us the big thing was that it was clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is less than a minute from the central station. I had a room at the rear and could not hear the trains. There is a building site next door where the bank once stood, that produced some noise, but not into the evening.

The rooms are spotless but dated.

Breakfast was ok, but the selection could of been greater.

For business its fine as next to station, and only one minute across the road is the wall to the historic altstadt.

The guy at reception gave me a map and drew a route around the altstadt, explaining points of interest.

Question the value, probably only as the decor is dated though.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The front door is about 25 steps from the West Exit of the central train station (Nuremberg HBF). I was working a trade show at the exhibition hall in Messe and we rode the U train everyday, so being this close to the station was excellent. For weekends and evenings, it was walking distance to the bars/restaurants, old churches and castle inside the old city walls.

The room itself was sparse but comfortable enough. The single bed is a true single - no way two people could comfortably sleep there - but just fine for one person. The complimentary breakfast was good and the staff is very welcoming and accommodating. Any issues or requests were dealt with swiftly.

This hotel is not the place to go if you plan to spend time luxuriating in a hotel room. This is a solid business/traveler hotel for those who seek a clean, simple, place to sleep in an extremely convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I were lucky to stay 24 days at the hotel "Marienbad" in Nuremberg. It was Christmas and New Year period and we were happy to find a family corner in an unknown city. Hospitality was perfect! All the members of the staff were helpful and spoke English very well(I don't know German). Tidy rooms, comfortable beds, close to historical centre of the city and close to railway station which was very quite and more look like a shopping centre. We had rich breakfast in the mornings with fresh food and fresh baked bread and tea and coffee were free all day long. Fast internet was working all the time. Excellent smell of burning candle and smiling young gentleman in the reception were the symbols of the hotel every morning! Family run hotel became a sweet home for us and the Family members we met became a part of our hearts. We are planning to visit Nuremberg again and we are sure we will choose "Marienbad" to stay at again although we are fond of changing our hotels all the time but this hotel is an exception! Our friend booked this hotel for us saying,- "It has good location, good service and reasonable price". And everything was just like that... and plus kindness and care of all the staff! Great thanks to the Haag Family with best wishes and full rooms of guests to Marienbad Hotel! Lilit

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marienbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marienbad

Address: Eilgutstrasse 5, 90443 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#20 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marienbad 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideales, familiengeführtes Stadthotel für Städtereisen und Geschäftsreisen nach Nürnberg.Nur 100 Meter vom Nürnberger Hauptbahnhof entfernt liegt Ihr Domizil in einer Nebenstraße und ist nur 500 Meter vom historischen Zentrum entfernt. Das Messezentrum Nürnberg erreichen sie bequem innerhalb von 15 Minuten.Traditionelle Werte, authentische Gastlichkeit und moderne Ausstattung zeichnen unser privat geführtes Hotel im Besonderen Maße aus und machen es für Sie zum idealen Ausgangspunkt um Nürnberg zu entdecken.Unser aufmerksames, kompetentes und freundliches Team sorgt immer für einen angenehmen Aufenthalt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marienbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marienbad Hotel Nuremberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marienbad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.