We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near the old city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burgschmiet

Save Saved
You added Hotel Burgschmiet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Burgschmiet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burgschmietstrasse 8, 90419 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€89 (EUR)
Ranked #15 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Domzale, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the old city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The room was nice, big and comfortable double bed, TV, refrigerator, small desk, separate anteroom/lobby for luggage and small sofa. Bathroom very basic - shower, sink, toilet. Everything clean and in good condition. Baby bed was provided without extra cost. Breakfast was excelent, a lot of choise. The location is great (we traveled by car and we were happy to have a parking space at the hotel), few steps from the old city.

We had the room next to the elevator shaft and we could hear it every time it was in operation. But having a small child, we are not bothered with night noises anymore.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
38
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we arrived, we got a warm and helpful reception. Checkin was quick. Then he carried our bags for us to the room, one flight up. There is an elevator. Our initial impression of the room was "oh my gd, what did we get into here?" The room is not spacious but by the next morning, we'd figured out how to make it work for us.
We grew to love it and would stay here again. The breakfast is fabulous, so many good and even healthful choices. So pleasant in the dining room too,
Also in a few days, we figured out where we really are and began to appreciate the proximity to good bus routes, U (underground) and especially the ease to walk to Old Town.
All on all, a delightful small hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge perhaps and ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this delightful hotel breakfast was the stand out here the food and service excellent and the breakfast room itself has great ambience antique furniture and paintings,over all we rated it highly .We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the hotel car park the room was quiet spacious and spotlessly clean with a good comfortable bed and pillow.Taxi from the main train station is around 10 euro.The castle and old city are just across the road and there are plenty of reasonably priced places selling local Bavarian dishes.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in this quiet pleasant hotel just out of old city but close to castle and only a few minutes pleasant walk to centre of old town.We had a good sized comfortable room and bathroom had bath and shower. The staff were welcoming and friendly and most had good English.
What will stay in the memory for us was BREAKFAST!-superb with such a wide choice and first class quality
REALLY good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night while travelling home from Italy. It was a pleasant good value hotel just across the road from the Aldstat and castle. The rooms were clean and well equipped, except no kettle (which is fairly typical in Germany). The room was spacious and the bathroom good.
There was a lovely breakfast buffet, with a huge choice of savoury and sweet. Probably the best breakfast I have had in Germany.
I forgot to reserve a parking space and although we were advised that we could park in the adjacent streets for we, there were no spaces and we had to park in an underground car park on the Aldstat, which was a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel has a few outstanding qualities. One great quality is the breakfast. It was the best breakfast that I have ever had in Germany. It had everything from beautiful fresh fruit, to eggs and sausages, to the most delectable pastries one could imagine.
The next perk is the location, location, location. It is within walking minutes to the walled city of Old Nuremberg. While on the sidewalk in front of the hotel, you can actually see one of the gates of the ALTSTADT. Once you park your car, you will most likely not need it during your stay.
Parking the car brings me to the next quality of Hotel Burgschmiet, which is not so good: Finding parking. The reserved parking at the hotel is rented to others in the neighborhood. So, once registered, you are left to go out and scramble for parking. It is not an easy quest. Be aware, some the of street parking is set aside for people who actually live in the buildings.I did not get a ticket or my car towed, but I saw plackarts in cars to designate that they were inhabitants of the street. If there is a festival going on, I would imagine that finding parking would be next to mission impossible.
With staying close to the action comes noise. This was definitely a problem at Hotel Burgschmiet. One can hear sirens and street noise well even with the room windows closed.
The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the hotel was overall good. If I was offered to stay at Hotel Burgschmiet again at a REALLY good price, I would.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very nice hotel in quiet surroundings. Location is the main advantage, just 3 minutes walking from the walls and gates of old town.
We stayed in April and it was cold outside and inside, and for some reason heater in room was turned off, and we didn't realized it when arrived and got prepared to spend chilly night. But when we turned it on, the room became warm very fast.
Staff is very helpful and friendly, we arrived very late, they helped me with luggage. When we said that we are too tired to go anywhere for dinner, the person from front desk gave us plenty of hot tea and some cookies for free just to make a pleasure.
Breakfast deserves my warmest words. I travel a lot and should say that only good 3* chain hotels, like Mariott, Sheraton or Hilton usually serve such breakfast. The choice is great, and everything is so good!
About parking... They have their own garage with room for 3 cars, and provide it for free, but based on "first come first served". Unfortunately you can not book it before you arrive. But actually it's not a problem, you can use public garage nearby, it takes extra 10 min walking. Off-street parking is hard to find, streets around are narrow and always fully packed.
Overall: I liked it and ready to stay again...

Room Tip: If you get the room next to the elevator, it would be a bit noisy daytime, but it doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Burgschmiet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burgschmiet

Address: Burgschmietstrasse 8, 90419 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burgschmiet 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet "Hotel Burgschmiet" is in close proximity to the Imperial Castle and the citywall around the old city. Also to Nuremberg's main market, which is only a short walk from the hotel, where Germany's most famous Christmas market opens each year, the Nürnberger Christkindlesmarkt; Its stalls for visitors from around the world. Every year more than two million visitors from all over the world come to see the Christmas market.Whether you are working at the fair or on a journey through Nuremberg, thanks to the friendly atmosphere of our house your stay will become an event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Burgschmiet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burgschmiet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.