We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with some deficiencies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Nurnberg City

Save Saved
You added NH Nurnberg City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
NH Nurnberg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 17 - 19, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover NH - as of €70!
Ranked #37 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel with some deficiencies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is hotel is ideal from location point of view as it is right next to the main train station. Also, it is walking distance from main market of the small Nurnberg town.

Front desk is helpful and efficient and can understand and speak fluent english. they have an nice lobby and inhouse restaurant that serves palatable options. Rooms are clean and spacious with nice bathroom and all required amenities.

The only problem with the hotel was its internet access. For whatever reason the access to free internet was only thru wire connection. Also, once you get it, it is restricted to only 100MB per day after which you cannot access. I would just add, that wireless internet is free in the lobby without any restrictions but I was surprised when I got a message that my daily quota of internet is exhausted after using it for a few minutes

the price for stay was very affordable, but the price of breakfast add on was quite steep at Euros 21. Once you opt for the breakfast option you will be delighted with the many options available. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    231
    64
    11
    9
See reviews for
49
141
39
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed 6 nights in this hotel, arriving to Nuernberg by train: from this point of view, the position was very convenient since it is very close to the central station. Be acknowlegded: even if close to the center (Nuernberg's wall and Koenigstrasse stand in front of the railway station), it is far from being sited in a romantic place. It is new and nice, but has a "cold" appearence and stands along a rather ugly street, in front of another "cold" pretty new hotel: the area seems to be a building yard that will be plenty of new hotels in the near future. However, Nuernberg seems to be a safe city, so I would not say it is unsafe to go back to the hotel even at late night. The street is very busy, but my rooms (the first floor, looking at the street) was well soundproofed, so I was not disturbed at all. The room as well as the bathroom were very nice and rather large, and I had everything I needed, including a safe. Only, for a quite odd (and nowadays stupid, I would say) policy of NH hotels that utilize the swisscom internet provider, you get a very slow connection unless you pay for a premium upgrade (9 euro per day, if I remember well). The basic connection is enough for checking emails, but the bitrate is not enough for a decent navigation, and even scrolling down the latest news was a real pain. If not for the internet connection, my stay would have been perfect: excellent breakfast, good quality of sleep and of service, helpful staff at the reception, fitness area available,cleanliness and so on. Getting a beer served by a waiter in the nice lobby is not more expensive than getting it at the bench in a Bierhaus. At 100 euros per night is a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

15 minutes to check, despite pre-registration is way too long and unnecessary. And the hot water valve in the room was never attended to despite a promise to do so! All this was a shame as the hotel is well situated, quiet with good facilities. And one day Germany will catch up with the rest of the world and offer free high speed Internet access rather than a heavily throttled service unless you pay. Here you could only get it in the rooms via a cable so my work had to be done in the lobby. The does not really reflect the technological prowess of this country!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Positives: clean, modern, breakfast good, location fine, staff friendly. But sadly two things made this a hotel we can't attend again. Parking is 12 euro per day but no room on last day and had to park at a dodgy unlit car park opposite. And a kettle in room was 5 euro per day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A very nice hotel near the city center with onsite parking. The room was modern, well appointed. The staff was helpful with several items. The breakfast buffet which was included was stunning including at least two types of egg, hams, wursts, multiple cereals, smoked salmon, two preparations of herring, fresh juices and fruits. Free wi-fi in the lobby and free internet in the room made communications easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A nice hotel, friendly service. The locations is good, a 7 minute walk drom the central railway station. But again no free wifi at the rooms. But at least it is available at the lobby. We have veen strugling over the lack of wifi all over the Germany.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

NH Nuremberg hotel has a good location near the Hauptbanhnhof and the Aldtstadt. The staff is very friendly. I chose the hotel based on the Booking.com details which states that the hotel has fast wired internet in the rooms, and that this is FREE. I am a business user, so this is important to me. I was booked in for four nights. One has to renew the internet login every 24 hours, which is inconvenient in itself.

I found that the "FREE" internet has a limit of 100 MB, which runs out pretty quickly for anyone having to complete work during the evenings- well before 24 hours runs out. The staff did supply new logins for me, but this was an inconvenience and disrupted my work. They were unaware of the 100 MB limit.

I don't recommend the hotel for anyone needing an internet connection for work purposes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Nurnberg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Nurnberg City

Also Known As:
Nh Nurnberg City Hotel Nuremberg
Nh Nurnberg City Nuremberg
Nh Nurnberg City Hotel
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 17 - 19, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#26 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#28 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Nurnberg City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your NH Nurnberg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Nurnberg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.