We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelhardsgasse 12, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Nuremberg
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is near the old city wall. About 15 to 20 minute walk to the Hauptmarkt. The train station is a walking distance (about 15 minute walk).

The only downside of the hotel location is its proximity to the "redlight district".

The hotel has a very good buffet breakfast: eggs (scrambled and cook to order), bacon, sausage, potatoes, cold cuts, bread and sweet rolls.

Free internet access.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    178
    28
    7
    13
See reviews for
55
113
50
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Welcoming reception. Good quality and comfortable rooms. Whilst the shower had good water pressure, it was hung in a slightly strange position which meant water spray could not be fully captured behind the shower screen and could spill out onto the floor.

Hotel offered free coffee and pastries in reception / lounge area daily which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was a great with a fantastic array of hot and cold buffet items - eggs of any description also cooked to order.

Room Tip: Due to its location (i.e. in a small quiet side street just off the main ring road), I do not believ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

2nd Stay at this venue too. Came there during the xmas season. So it was fully booked and my rooms costed 125euro, breakfast and Internet included. A bit expensive as parking came on top.
However the front desk personnel was very helpfull, in both finding me a parking spot in the overcrowded underground parking and a room matching my preferences, despite the hotel being full and a late arrival there.

The room was large and bathroom clean, except some black hair on the bathroom kit basket.

The hotel has a nice and large bar, unusual of the chain, and not to expensive neither. Great service and attitude of the team there.

Check out was fast and easy. Breakfast is quite good and complete.

A placr to use if you are an IHG programme member, even in high period.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Unfortunately we had some less than good experiences at this hotel. Our room safe did not work, but was quickly fixed after two staff visits. Our bill was in error when we checked out, and it took some time to straighten it out. Our refrigerator wouldn't get cold the whole time we were there, even after we reported it every day for four days. On the plus side, the hotel staff were extremely nice. The room was a good size and clean. The hotel is located on the fringe of the old town area, but an easy 15 minute walk to the center of old town and the main train station. The u-bahn stop is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, and you can take the u-bahn to the center of old town (1 stop), or the main train station (2 stops). There was a coffee machine in the lobby at all times which was also nice. Despite our problems, the hotel was a good value and I probably would stay there again, because I think that our experience was the exception.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel which cost 22 Euros. When we arrived check in was fast and easy and when we opened the door to our room ( number 610) we were surprised at how large the room was. The bathroom was spotless and modern. It had a huge deep bath ( wonderful for aching legs and feet from walking so much ) and a very powerful shower. the bed (king size but 2 beds pushed together which is the norm for Germany) was very comfortable. You could also request the type of pillows you wanted, we had 2 soft ones each. There was a very big TV ( the only English speaking channels were the usual BBC world news and CNN etc but we weren't there to watch TV). Tea and coffee making facilities which were replenished but if you wanted more you just needed to ring reception and it was brought to your room immediately, there was a complimentary bottle of water and a fizzy apple drink in the fridge, which were also replenished (again complimentary). We felt as though we were the only people staying at the hotel (10th - 13th December and it was fully booked) as we didn't hear any noise at all from anywhere.
The reception is bright and airy, there is an internet station section where guests get free use of the computers ( there are about 5 or 6 of them). There is free coffee and tea all day plus during the mornings there are also free pastries.
The reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly, they all speak excellent English too. There seemed to be nothing that was too much trouble for them.
We had breakfast on our last morning and wished we had had it on all our mornings there as it was absolutely delicious - don't let the cost of 15 Euros per person put you off, it is so worth it if you like to have a big breakfast, of course if you are not much of an eater in the mornings then it probably is a waste of money as you could just go to one of the many cafes and have something there but we would thoroughly recommend the breakfast.
The location of the hotel is not bad. It took about 15 minutes to walk to the Christmas market and all the lovely shops. Yes the hotel is just round the corner from the red light district, if you come out of the hotel and turn right and walk the few steps to the corner you will see the house where the girls stand in front of the windows.
My one and only slight negative regarding the hotel is that we were there at Christmas time and there is only a very large and beautifully decorated Christmas tree, the smell of which was divine but nothing else Christmassy in the reception at all, I would maybe suggest to them to play Christmas music/songs rather than the music that played in the reception and to maybe make the reception more Christmassy.
If we were to return to Nurnberg we would definitely return to this hotel and would highly recommend anyone else to stay here too.
Thank you for a wonderful stay !

Room Tip: We had a king sized superior room number 610...fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night before going on a river cruise. It is walkable to the Christmas market. It is not the closest to the market but okay and seemingly safe walk. We had an apartment style room. Nice bathroom, good beds and clean. The breakfast was fine but I think a bit pricey. They gave us help getting a cab to our river boat. Had lunch in the dining room and that was so/so. Too many other good places to eat in the city. They do have an odd billing policy of charging for the second person in the room. Most hotels and even hotels in this chain do not do that. I though it was a bit of bait and switch related to the price. WiFi was good

Room Tip: The apartments in the back are a bit of a hike but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Nuremberg City Centre Holiday Inn Hotel for five nights while we explored the city and even hired a car for a day trip to Rothenburg. Our bed was comfortable and at the front of the hotel. It was not noisy except for the odd time when you could hear a siren or loud music from one of the pubs (Friday/Saturday night), but this did not bother us as we live in a city centre.

The hotel is located inside the city walls. The hotel is between 10-15 minutes walking to the central train station. It is about five minutes or less to Weiber Turm (U1 and U11 lines) and maybe 7 minutes walk to Plarrer underground subway station. So, it is extremely easy to navigate from the airport (which is on the U2 subway line, the red one) and anywhere further afield. If arriving on a weekend, you can buy a ticket which is unlimited all day Saturday and this automatically includes Sunday too. But the ticket machines are in English and Google a Nuremberg tube map as the public transport via underground is really easy. They also do have trams as well, which is just denoted by a number instead of a U (underground) or an S (suburban) before it.

Walking anywhere within the city walls is easy and doable. Maybe it takes 30 minutes to get one side to the other, at a slower pace. The Christmas Market is about ten minutes away.

The hotel's staff were friendly. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We had no issues. It's a little expensive, and breakfast was 30.00 per couple, so we were not going to buy it as that is a lot of money. Wifi was free. Parking is available but you need to look that up beforehand as I'm not sure where the parking would be located, and it would cost. Overall, good stay but the only disappointment was the cost of extras.

Location is good, as mentioned. Note that it is on the edge of the red light district, so if you come to the hotel via the city walls, you will walk through the windows of women in lingerie. This did not bother us as we minded our own business but if I was on my own, I probably would not have felt safe walking down this road as there were a few shady-looking guys hanging around. To avoid it, just simply do not walk the road following the city wall for the last two or three blocks around the southern side (city wall side) near the hotel. Oh, and the road along the city wall's south side is not lit the best either, so if you're worried, then avoid it and stick to the main roads and just head to one of the main roads from the north to approach the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre

Address: Engelhardsgasse 12, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#6 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#11 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on a charming cobbled street, our Nurnberg hotel blends contemporary style with Bavarian warmth. Sip coffee on our pavement terrace and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the bright Lobby. Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre is 2 minutes' walk from Weisser Turm U-Bahn station, from where trains serve Nurnberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre Hotel Nuremberg
Holiday Inn Nuremberg
Nuremberg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.