We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelhardsgasse 12, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“clean, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

That sums it up. If there were a place to eat breakfast in the area other than the hotel or a place close by to eat dinner other than a pub or KFC, I would have given it 5 stars for its category of hotel. I came for the xmas market which is about a mile or more via pedestrian shopping area. Surprisingly few restaurants. Room was generously sized for Europe. Huge closet. One of those knee high tubs. If you can't manage getting in or out, better ask for a handicapped room. Kettle that worked, fridge that did not. The usual gouging price for breakfast. Nice touch to have tea and coffee in lobby plus leftover croissants when breakfast ended. The hotel was full. We arrived at 11 and were told no rooms were clean and would not be one til 12:30. Hmmm. It takes an hour and a half to clean a room? We waited. At 12:30 my husband asked again and a room mysteriously appeared but not til we asked. We are platinum and got free wi-fi and a newspaper and 500 bonus pts.

Room Tip: Get twins unless you can handle squashing together in a twin. The Europeans don't know from king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yearbook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

A brilliant hotel and breakfast. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Whilst the hotel is in the red light are, there is no trouble. I stayed here for 6 nights (2nd time this year).

If you want to avoid the red light area, just turn left out of hotel. The hotel is within 15 minutes of the airport by the metro, so much easier than a taxi.

The breakfast is brilliant and the choice is outstanding.

A brilliant hotel and credit to holiday inn

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chineham-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Having recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Nuremberg, and not one to normally write a review may I add, I simply couldn't resist it on this occasion.

The hotel itself is perfectly located in terms of being within manageable walking distance of the town centre and local attractions, including the world-renowned market. Although as some other reviewers have already pointed out - upon exiting the hotel and should you make a right turn, you'll be surrounded by red lights if you know what I mean! Haha! Not a pretty sight at 10am on a Saturday morning!

However, the main reason for writing this review is to sing the praises of the staff who work here - courteous, pleasant, helpful. And for one employee in particular - none of those words even do her any justice - the true star of the hotel is Marta from the lounge / bar who not only excels in all of the above - but takes hospitable to a new level - and that is coming from someone who works within the industry and has done for many years. Marta is an exceptional employee - very friendly and going out of her way to ensure my travelling party had the most enjoyable stay. However, to top it all off - Marta makes the most wonderful Mojitos - a genuine maestro in the making! I'd even go so far as to say the best Mojitos I've had in Europe - and that comes from me living in London and having the pleasure to have had many cocktails around here! Marta should be praised by management - she'd be a fantastic asset to have in my hotel here in London that's for sure! But until then - I'll be back for more Mojitos soon!



Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank xbarryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent property, clean and up to date. Walk to all major sites in city. Staff is very friendly and responsive. Well marked directions in an area that can be a little confusing. Is a little too close to the city's red light district.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very good location in the centre of the city with good service. Rooms normal size for two people and comfortable bed but very soft pillows.Free wi-fi and empty mini - bar. Free coffee all day long in the reception and very good lighting in the corridors. The prices for the period of congresses very highShould expect more for 4 stars hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Dimitris1954,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We are pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. We appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Professional and efficient hotel in good location. 5 mins walk to u-bahn and town centre. Stayed in apartment suite large space with fridge, cooker,mwave, kettle.From airport only 20 mins and one change on underground.
Pros: location, clean and we'll organised, great room, nice bar area
Cons slow wifi,pricey bfast

Tips: use nearby cafés in town for cheap bfast, underground is slick trains every 7 mins. Old town centre is 15 mins walk. Traditional food at bratwurst roslein

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were on a vacation trip and this hotel met our needs nicely. Excellent workout room. The location is within the old city walls, walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Rooms are good size by European standards and there was even an ice machine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
NH Nuernberg City Center
#13 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#2 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt - St. Lorenz
Hotel Drei Raben
Hotel Drei Raben
#1 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Altstadt - St. Sebald
Sorat Hotel Saxx
Sorat Hotel Saxx
#3 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre

Address: Engelhardsgasse 12, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#12 Business Hotel in Nuremberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#16 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on a charming cobbled street, our Nurnberg hotel blends contemporary style with Bavarian warmth. Sip coffee on our pavement terrace and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the bright Lobby. Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre is 2 minutes' walk from Weisser Turm U-Bahn station, from where trains serve Nurnberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre Hotel Nuremberg
Holiday Inn Nuremberg
Nuremberg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing