We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprising how demolished it is...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reichsparteigelande (Nazi Party Rally Grounds)

Reichsparteigelande (Nazi Party Rally Grounds)
Bayernstrasse 110, 90471 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
09112315666
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$68*
and up
Private Tour: Nuremberg Sightseeing Including Old...
Ranked #5 of 121 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Suprising how demolished it is...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was worth the walk from the Dokumentationszentrum. It was breathtaking because you could literally stand where history was made. Unfortunately, the grounds are not well kept. The center has been paved and turned into a parking lot. The columns were destroyed after WWII. The stadium seating is overgrown with weeds. But, it is still worth visiting - you can experience the magnitude of what was.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EB K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
936 reviews
443 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“In disrepair but interesting to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Needless to say the Germans are not trying to make any shrines out of the rally grounds. The buildings and stands built by Albert Speer are still there and worth a look, but they are in disrepair, and the people of Nuremberg do not feel it would be fitting to make anything "happy" out of any of the rally grounds or surrounding buildings due to the serious nature of their history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great museum, really interesting site to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I am a history major and after the disappointments of Berlin, I was not expecting much of this attraction. To my utmost surprise and delight I was completely wrong! This is one of the best modern historical sites I have been to in Europe (and also one of the cheapest! Only €5 entry fee). The information is presented in a variety of ways to keep guests entertained and engaged - digital, text, video, photography and a mix of primary and secondary sources. In particular, stay to watch the very first video as you enter the exhibit-it's incredibly well done and captivating.

Unlike other museums that I visited in Germany, this one does not sanitize the information presented or the effect it had on the German people or the wider global community. It was really interesting to see the rally grounds in more detail, such as Hitler's vision for their use, the original plans and how they look today.

I highly recommend this attraction to all visitors to Nuremberg, both history buffs and novices! :-)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you're in Nuremberg, it is worth the trip. It's very informative and tells about Hitler's rise to power. You can rent an audio tour but it isn't in the form of headphones so it's more like holding a phone receiver to your ear the whole time and allows for many distractions from other tourists. The other thing is that if your native tongue is English and you don't read German, you will not be able to read the different posters on all the different events as they are all in German. I did enjoy the interviews of local Nuremberg folks via film clips who lived in Nuremberg during hitler's reign. These were first hand accounts I had not heard before.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband is very passionate about WWII history so we hired a private guide from Insider Tours to take us around Nuremburg all day. Kevin from the US was excellent. He took us to the Nazi Rally Grounds as well as everywhere else, and it was fascinating, the size and grandeur of Hitlers plans for Germania. Amazing day, including Document Centre and Palace of Justice. Even took us for Bratwurst in a great pub for lunch!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenandAlan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reichsparteigelande (Nazi Party Rally Grounds) also viewed

 

Been to Reichsparteigelande (Nazi Party Rally Grounds)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing