We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuremburg Trial Courthouse

Nuremburg Trial Courthouse
Baerenschanzstrasse 72, Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 61 Attractions in Nuremberg
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Cork
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went to this museum on a very hot day via the local tram so it was nice to go inside where it was cool - there was a restaurant but we didn't purchase any food just a bottle of water each - most essential. We had the translation audio and walked round for about an hour and a half both listening and looking at the exhibitions and eventually the courtroom - which was a real step back in time. We found this a very good account of the rise of Hitler and marveled really how he managed to dupe most of a nation - it is a part of their history which they are not, quite rightly, proud but, we thought, it was presented in a very honest and unbiased way and we learn't a lot about Hitler's reign and the suffering of the ordinary German people which, we didn't know before. Quite surprisingly kids enjoyed it too (aged 11 and 9) - only getting bored towards the end. We would recommend a visit if you enjoy recent history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    33
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Memorium, an interesting museum about the Nuremberg trials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This museum is all about the trial of NAZI criminals. The audioguide, included in the entrance fee, provides detailed information about the court room itself as well as about the attached museum. A must see, if you are interested in the history of WWII.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, Alaska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“ZZZzzzzzz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great history, but its more about the building itself and its purpose and less about the actual trial itself. Its one small courtroom followed by room after room of exhibition recodings.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“visit the Nuremberg Nazi Trial Museum - outskirts of City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is riveting experience documenting the entire process of post WWII trials of the Nazi leadership. The museum audio tour takes 2-3 hours on the 3rd floor and then you are treated to a visit to the "actual" courtroom where all the suspense and excitement took place in 1946.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Closed on Holidays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Certainly if you are visiting Nuremberg, you should visit here. Unfortunately the day I was in Nuremberg was a holiday and it is closed on holidays-just a reminder. Still moving to see the building and grounds and plaques giving information. If you cannot go in you can still look up and see the large windows of the room where the trials were held.
Must see attraction

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuremburg Trial Courthouse also viewed

 

Been to Nuremburg Trial Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuremburg Trial Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.