We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list
Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel
Frauentormauer 42, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Nurnberg Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Has the Perfect location, the staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms, kitchen are clean and modern. Love the bathrooms .I stayed in the 6 beds female dorm, which was great. Not many hostel have female dorms now. I definitely recommend this hostel if you travel in Nuremberg.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
20
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Really nice place to base yourself in Nuremburg, only a 5 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof (or one stop on the U-Bahn if you're feeling lazy or have a lot of luggage). It's also only 5 minutes from all the shops and restaurants of the main part of town, and a 15-20 minute walk to the castle on the other side of town.

As is the case it most German cities it is also easy to find your way to attractions slightly out-of-town such as the courthouse where the Nuremburg Trials took place, and the Doncumentation Centre where the infamous Nazi rallies took place.

The street it is situated on is nice and peaceful and behind the city wall so blocks out the noise from the main road behind it which makes for a good nights sleep. The 8-bed dorm was very spacious and everywhere was nice and clean.

Would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the duration of the 'Rock Im Park' festival.
We booked either an 8 or 10 person dorm (I don't really remember) . The dorm was actually split into 2 rooms which gave you loads of space, more than I have had at any other hostel.
The entire hostel is spotless, and the staff are very friendly. You can buy beers at the reception and drink them in the common area. The only downside is that there didn't seem to be many travellers wanting to socialise, but I guess that's just the way it goes sometimes.
The hostel is also in a good location, halfway between the center of town, and the main station.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

A very modern hostel. Although I had to walk downstairs to reach the bathrooms I didn't mind as they were the nicest I had seen on my trip, with lovely big showers. The rooms were modern, if a little bare, and the staff were very helpful and knowledgable about Nuremberg. The location is perfect, right next to the German Museum and the way of human rights, 5 minutes from the train station and a short walk to the old town.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Looks new. Good location - literally it's the building next to the National Museum (if you walk close to the city wall). 2 Macs for people to go online; alcoholic beverages available in the reception that also acts as the lounge / dining area/ kitchen .
Good sized shared bathrooms but the linen was suspect in terms of cleanliness.
Don't rely on it for breakfast thought there is a kitchen. As hostels go, not bad.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Close to the main train station as well as the centre of Nurnberg, simple hostel but new and cozy! The days I stayed in Nurnberg were really hot!! The room was extremely hot at night even opened all the windows!! Couldn't sleep very well during my stay!! Staff are nice when you need help but not as passionate as the other young hostels...

It is quite quiet when getting back to the hostel at night, so if you are a solo traveller, be aware!!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were staying here for three nights in late february, the whole city was booked out (electronics conference) - we were aiming to stay at a hotel but this place was the only reasonable stay that had vacancies.
We didnt expect a lot and found everything: clean spacious rooms, super friendly staff, yummy breakfast, clean bathrooms, unbeatable price and first and foremost: perfect location!
We stayed in a 6pax mixed dorm and will stay there again! The hostel seems to have been recently refurbished and is modern with a cool urban touch. You are staying within the walls of old-town nuremberg and can easily reach all the nice spots of this beautiful city by foot. If you need to go a bit further, the metro that brings you there is just around the corner. Definitely a sirprise.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel

Address: Frauentormauer 42, 90402 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Nurnberg Hostel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Reasons Hotel & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.