We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big Nurnberg Church” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche)

St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche)
Lorenzer Platz 10, Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)
0911/20-92-87
Improve this listing
Visit St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche) like an insider
Top Rated
$54*
and up
Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical...
Ranked #4 of 144 things to do in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice big Nurnberg Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I am pretty sure there is an image of Santa Claus in one of the stain glass windows, but it was dark when we visited so it was hard to tell! Anyway, it's a great big traditional German Cathedral and worth a visit just to look up and soak in the middle age engineering that went into it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    138
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
470 reviews 470 reviews
214 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“very interesting example of a medieval Lutheran church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

very interesting example of Gothic style, well worth entering for a short visit as you stroll along one of the streets in the old city center to this platz

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Real Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been in many Gothic churches during our travels, but this one has such soaring elegant architecture we were left breathless. Light pours in from the many windows so, in spite of it`s size, St. Lorenz seems
almost weightless. Suspended from the ceiling as one approaches the alter is a huge but delicate looking ,for want of a better word, sculpture
of the Annunciation. It looks as if it was floating in space.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We happened in on a practice session of the St. Lorenz church choir and orchestra while visiting Nuremberg. They were doing a Verdi concert that evening. IT WAS MAGNIFICENT listening to those voices and that orchestra reverberate in the church. Used Rick Steve's commentary as we walked around in the church looking at the altar, columns, art, etc. Just spending 30 minutes there was so uplifting!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very interesting church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I loved the wall that held the candles that you light. It was a modern piece of art in a very old church but fit. Interesting to see the pictures of what was left after the WW!! bombings.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche) also viewed

 

Been to St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.