We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big Nurnberg Church” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche)

St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche)
Lorenzer Platz 10, Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)
0911/20-92-87
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 73 Attractions in Nuremberg
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice big Nurnberg Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I am pretty sure there is an image of Santa Claus in one of the stain glass windows, but it was dark when we visited so it was hard to tell! Anyway, it's a great big traditional German Cathedral and worth a visit just to look up and soak in the middle age engineering that went into it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    104
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
192 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“very interesting example of a medieval Lutheran church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

very interesting example of Gothic style, well worth entering for a short visit as you stroll along one of the streets in the old city center to this platz

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A Real Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been in many Gothic churches during our travels, but this one has such soaring elegant architecture we were left breathless. Light pours in from the many windows so, in spite of it`s size, St. Lorenz seems
almost weightless. Suspended from the ceiling as one approaches the alter is a huge but delicate looking ,for want of a better word, sculpture
of the Annunciation. It looks as if it was floating in space.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We happened in on a practice session of the St. Lorenz church choir and orchestra while visiting Nuremberg. They were doing a Verdi concert that evening. IT WAS MAGNIFICENT listening to those voices and that orchestra reverberate in the church. Used Rick Steve's commentary as we walked around in the church looking at the altar, columns, art, etc. Just spending 30 minutes there was so uplifting!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Very interesting church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I loved the wall that held the candles that you light. It was a modern piece of art in a very old church but fit. Interesting to see the pictures of what was left after the WW!! bombings.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche) also viewed

 

Been to St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;