We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting example of a medieval Lutheran church” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche)

St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche)
Lorenzer Platz 10, Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany (Altstadt - St. Lorenz)
0911/20-92-87
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 attractions in Nuremberg
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
163 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“very interesting example of a medieval Lutheran church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

very interesting example of Gothic style, well worth entering for a short visit as you stroll along one of the streets in the old city center to this platz

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    98
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, Usa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A Real Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been in many Gothic churches during our travels, but this one has such soaring elegant architecture we were left breathless. Light pours in from the many windows so, in spite of it`s size, St. Lorenz seems
almost weightless. Suspended from the ceiling as one approaches the alter is a huge but delicate looking ,for want of a better word, sculpture
of the Annunciation. It looks as if it was floating in space.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We happened in on a practice session of the St. Lorenz church choir and orchestra while visiting Nuremberg. They were doing a Verdi concert that evening. IT WAS MAGNIFICENT listening to those voices and that orchestra reverberate in the church. Used Rick Steve's commentary as we walked around in the church looking at the altar, columns, art, etc. Just spending 30 minutes there was so uplifting!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Very interesting church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I loved the wall that held the candles that you light. It was a modern piece of art in a very old church but fit. Interesting to see the pictures of what was left after the WW!! bombings.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not just ADC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

OK, so it's not the biggest Gothic church in Germany*, but it is beautiful. It's worth a visit just for the wood carvings within and the stone work (wee bit gruesome)on the facade. If I haven't mixed up my notes, one of the paintings to the left as you face the altar was done by Durer's teacher.

*I was informed by a docent/sexton that the organs might be among the best in the country. Don't know,as my German is almost nonexistent, but I bought a CD, "Die drei grossen Orgeln der St. Lorenzkirche Nurnberg." and love listening to it. Only wish I could have heard it live.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche) also viewed

 

Been to St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Lorenz Church (St. Lorenz Kirche) to your Saves list